The wussification of Formula 1

Rod Nunez
First Lap Nutcase
Published in
4 min readJul 9, 2016
Martin Brundle

Ferrari’s second test of the “halo” and Red Bull’s fancy canopy one can’t help but be alarmed at this worrying trend. When did we forget that Formula 1 is supposed to be dangerous? When did we forget that Formula 1 was about spitting in the face of death as you obey track limits because an ancient pine tree stands 2 feet away from the white lines? When helmets became a thing I didn’t say anything. When seat belts became a thing I didn’t say anything! Granted, I wasn’t alive but anyway, when they got Hermann Tilke to turn every classic track into a bad copy of a Mushroom cup track I didn’t say anything. When they installed a cushion of asphalt runoff areas in every great corner I said nothing but I can no longer remain silent and I must call out this nonsense. Putting anything that can protect the head of a driver any more than it already does will ruin Formula 1.

I have to be honest with you, in times like these it can be easy to feel like an alarmist but I can rest assured knowing that one of the all time great commentators of the sport is on my side. Heed the words of Martin Brundle

When you step into or over the side of a racing car you must be aware that you may be injured, paralysed, or killed. If you’re not prepared to take that much reduced risk then don’t do it. A driver can expect all reasonable efforts to be made such that he can walk away from the vast majority of big crashes, and we clearly have that in F1.

This is a man who gets it. This is what these guys know they’re getting themselves into. YOU COULD DIE AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT but….but should expect every reasonable effort will be made to prevent that. Unless that effort means putting something to prevent stuff from hitting you in the head. Come on guys.

I believe the cockpit closures will create as many safety issues as they solve, are ugly and heavy, and not particularly suitable to filter down to junior racing.

Exactly! They’re so unsafe because you can’t get out of them fast you know? Have you SEEN those deathtraps at Le Mans? So unsafe, and so ugly! BLEGH they look like whales down there…also how are these kids supposed to race cars with this? It’s not suitable to expect junior racing to care about safety…

So does there have to be risk? Does it matter if it’s more dangerous to drive to a GP venue than drive in it? As far as I’m concerned it does.

This is another excellent point. I don’t want to live in a world in which professional drivers in multi million dollar machines that push the limits of human engineering driving along PURPOSE made tracks for this event have a safer environment than I do driving down the interstate highway. Seriously, I cannot believe these guys drive around with no fear for their lives. Where’s the sport in that? These men need to be AFRAID. How the hell am I supposed to enjoy that? How can I as a fan honestly enjoy this sport when there’s some group of nerds out there working on making sure these guys don’t die by a collision at 150 mph? HOW CAN I WATCH THIS SPORT WHEN I FEEL MORE Gs ON MY DRIVE TO WORK THAN THESE GUYS? We’ve lost our way…

I have no data to back this up but I believe that if you cycle to work, ski the slopes, ride your motorbike and suchlike you are taking as many risks as a modern-day Formula 1 driver. But at least you don’t have the chore of that champagne-soaked podium to put up with.

Mr Brundle. You don’t need data to back it up. We all know, we’ve all been there. Look my tire explodes almost as much as the new Pirelli ultrasofts do, and I can still get to church on time. When I cycle to work I’m also 5 cm away from the guy on the bike next to me and we’re going downhill which is pretty fast. These guys these days…they don’t know how easy they got it, and to suggest that something needs to change in order to prevents incidents like the one in Suzuka 2014 is downright disrespectful to the real heroes putting themselves in danger every race weekend….the commentators.

old school racing

--

--