More Than a Job

Stephanie Wayfarer
Lights, Sirens and Stethoscopes
5 min readAug 11, 2021

What did you want to “be” when you grew up?

Writer’s pastel drawing of the USCG Eagle

We often ask children this question. Kids have no boundaries, no limits to what they think the future could be. What did you want to be when you were a kid? I wanted to be a teacher. All throughout school, that was my choice. I never became a teacher, but we’ll get to that later.

We often talk to high school students about careers. When I went to high school (long enough ago that none of us had cell phones) I remember being told things about salary, benefits, etc… and to go to college to be successful. I really hope high school kids are being taught more than I was in regards to job choices. There’s so much more to consider.

College was really pushed when I was in high school, as if that was the only possible goal a senior should have. Since I had always done well in art, I went to community college for art, with the thought of teaching art eventually. What about trade school, or joining the military, or finding a job and working your way up? I don’t remember those options presented to us, but why not? Going to college involves taking on debt. Of course so does trade school, but sometimes it’s easier to find a job with a trade than with a degree.

I understand that military service can be a touchy subject, but it’s something to consider. Enlistment can open doors for many seniors, such as on the job training that translates to civilian careers, money for school, free healthcare. However, due to the great physical and mental toll that sometimes comes with military service, seniors should not enlist solely for the benefits.

An open discussion of life’s possibilities will spark more interest and passion in our young adults than discussing 401k and health insurance. Why do we expect seniors to choose a degree and go to school right away? How is anyone supposed to know what to go to school for without any life experience? Why did I want to be a teacher? Because I enjoy helping others and that job was the job I was exposed to the most- because I sat in class Monday through Friday with a teacher.

I’ve worn many hats since I started working. I’ve done jobs I never wanted to do, and am grateful for each experience. With each new job, I’ve learned more about myself too. I worked as a Dietary Aide at a retirement home while in college. That taught me about meal prep, cooking, and it even gave me a glimpse into the lives of our elderly population. I worked there for ten years, before I finally resigned, as a supervisor.

After completing the majority of my Associate in Art, I enlisted in the reserves. I did not know it at the time, but that decision would open many doors for me. I learned how to exercise (did not take sports in high school), I learned a new skill (a mechanic), and having my health insurance through the military allowed me to change jobs as needed, without changing insurance.

Firefighter Engulfed painting

After finishing basic training, I had the confidence to finally try something new. I decided to become an EMT, but I didn’t want to go to school and potentially waste my time if I didn’t like it. I volunteered at my local fire department- I walked in with no experience and became a volunteer fire fighter. I loved it so much, I went to EMT school and continued to volunteer for several years. Having exposure to 911 calls before starting school also helped build my confidence in class and with patients.

Gaining my EMT Basic certification has opened so many opportunities for me. One semester of class and a national exam, and suddenly I have options to work as an EMT for a 911 service, or a private ambulance service doing transports, or working first aid at events, or working in an emergency room. Personally, I think you can’t beat working full time and still getting four days off a week, because some healthcare jobs have twelve hour shifts. For the record, I loved it, even though I started off at $10 an hour.

Does anyone talk to our kids about how a job changes you? Stay at a job long enough, and you will change, I will change, anyone will change. It’s how we adapt. I worked in customer service in a call center once, and I literally turned into someone more anxious than my normal self. I loved how much I learned at that job, but constantly talking to strangers on the phone all day, trying to solve their problems, while maintaining a polite customer service manner of speech, turned me into someone less assertive. It was a great job, but I did not like who I was turning into.

I worked as an ambulance dispatcher for a couple years, and most of my phone calls would last about two minutes. I often would talk on a radio to one of our crews while talking on the phone. Thankfully, I am GREAT at multitasking. However, after I left that job for something else, I realized my attention span had shrank considerably.

Working in the field and in an ER has made me jaded. I probably don’t need to elaborate there, but I love working in the medical field. I love helping others when they’re hurt or sick or vulnerable. We often hear that if you need help to ask for it- I like feeling like I am reaching down into the emotional hole our patients are in to pull them out. Its stressful when you’re having an emergency- even more so if you don’t understand what’s going on.

What about talking to our seniors about work schedules? Monday through Friday is not the only way to go, and personally I don’t like it. When I worked Monday through Friday, I never had a day off with my husband. Being in the reserves while working that schedule meant I’d basically work two weeks straight each month. I had trouble going to the bank or making doctor appointments. Not to mention that if you go to the lake on the weekend, everyone’s there. Go on a Monday? You’ve got the lake to yourself.

Working twelve hour shifts three days a week gave me plenty of time to myself. I don’t want to work my life away, I want to spend it on meaningful relationships, on hobbies that spark my interests, on enriching experiences. We’re not meant to work out lives away, even if that job is something that you love.

I’ve had opportunities to train others at many of my jobs, so I guess I was able to teach without being a teacher after all! What advice would you give our seniors? What did you want to “be” when you grow up?

--

--

Stephanie Wayfarer
Lights, Sirens and Stethoscopes

Stephanie is an artist and first responder. All stories are free to read! Subscribe for random honesty delivered to your email.