Traffic Etiquette

Stephanie Wayfarer
Lights, Sirens and Stethoscopes
2 min readMar 5, 2023
Painting by author

People annoy me so much. On a two hundred mile drive one night, I was stuck in traffic for an hour. I saw three fire engines, two ambulances, one supervisor vehicle, and two police cars drive ahead of me.

Then I saw lots of people drive across the grassy median to get to the access road, because no one wants to wait- I don’t blame them.

THEN I see a woman walking down the median, presumably to be nosy.

The car behind me and the one behind that one had drivers who looked to be about 18 years old, putting half their bodies outside of their windows to be nosy, and were laughing and joking with each other, and revving their engine, which annoyed me.

After an hour, I was able to exit. I thought the truck I saw was letting me in, but as soon as I waved thanks they sped up. I got in front of them anyways.

Then I saw the lady that was walking earlier, standing on a hill, looking at everything going on while talking on the phone.

Why does this annoy me so much? Because first responders, tow truck drivers, and Good Samaritans get hit by drivers who aren’t paying attention as they drive around.

And because someone else’s tragedy isn’t for other’s entertainment.

Because first responders don’t need to be watched while they work. They already have several things they are concentrating on at once in a high stress situation.

And if we’re all stuck in traffic, don’t be a jerk? Either way we’re all stuck waiting together, so you might as well make the best of it. I spent my time sitting there talking to my dad.

I few years ago, I was checking employee temperatures one night on our employee hospital entrance. The hallway was also used for patients that were brought in by flight. As I was sitting there, I saw a flight crew bring in a woman. They briefly mentioned that she had been hit by a car while trying to assist at an accident. She was a nurse at our hospital, and she was on a ventilator.

Car accidents often involve massive damage, injuries, and even death. If an accident involved you or one of your loved ones, would you want people staring?

I don’t get people sometimes. I really don’t.

Don’t cause an accident at an accident. Have some sense of humanity. Understand that we all have somewhere to go. Is this too much to expect?

--

--

Stephanie Wayfarer
Lights, Sirens and Stethoscopes

Stephanie is an artist and first responder. All stories are free to read! Subscribe for random honesty delivered to your email.