Volunteer Fire Fighters

Stephanie Wayfarer
Lights, Sirens and Stethoscopes
3 min readSep 20, 2022

I often find myself thinking or talking about my time at the Windcrest Volunteer Fire Department, and it finally dawned on me that it’s because my time, and the people there, have had an enormous impact in my life.

When I started at this department, I was just like many of you reading this. I knew nothing of fire, ems or first responding in general. I did not truly understand the reward, or risk, becoming a volunteer involved; I really just wanted to start a new career. Over the years, I learned how to think about situations from a new perspective, and to be more observant. I became more physically fit, and during my time there obtained my EMT certification. I put in many unpaid hours of my time to run calls or work during fundraising events. During my time there, I learned about hard work from hard working, salt of the earth people.

Volunteering at this department, during my time, involved rigorous testing, including a polygraph test and physical. Once cleared, all volunteers were expected to both explain and demonstrate hands on knowledge in a packet to include sign offs of various tasks. Then, you get your “blue shirt.” The department required a certain amount of training hours to be completed weekly as well. The importance of training cannot be underestimated; train like your life depends on it was something I often heard.

Like myself, most volunteers had paying jobs and families outside of the department. Just imagine putting in a 40 hour work week, assuming you have a traditional job, then adding about 10 hours a week volunteering, assuming you get off shift on time. Tack on any time you want to spend with your family or friends, or school work, and you can see how much volunteers work. Personally, at one time in my life I was working two part time jobs, serving in the reserves, volunteering at the department, and going to EMT school.

I grew as a medical professional thanks to the WVFD. I worked private EMS while continuing to volunteer. Eventually, I started a family, switched to dispatching and resigned from the fire department after about four years.

More firefighters in the U.S. are volunteers than are paid. Go to their picnics, donate to fill the boot. Volunteers are necessary, and though unpaid, departments still need equipment to ensure volunteers can do their jobs safely.

The majority of firefighters in the U.S. are actually volunteers.

National Fire Department Registry Quick Facts
There are 27,223 fire departments listed with the National Fire Department Registry. This is about 92 percent of all…apps.usfa.fema.gov

I used to enjoy training, and would often help for medical training.

For my last point, volunteering is a great thing to do. It can help you grow personally and professionally. Supporting volunteers is always appreciated. Volunteers put in a lot of hours. If you are thinking of becoming a volunteer, work hard, keep and open mind, always learn, take care of your body, but don’t let it consume your entire life. Make time for yourself, your family, and your non- department friends.

--

--

Stephanie Wayfarer
Lights, Sirens and Stethoscopes

Stephanie is an artist and first responder. All stories are free to read! Subscribe for random honesty delivered to your email.