Geek Eats! Episode 1 — Goulash

Curtyourfavorite
First Table Gaming
Published in
2 min readJan 30, 2020

If you’re anything like me, you spend much of the week wishing game night would get here already. Part of that anticipation is the delectable treats my pals provide! Sure, some are store-bought, and that’s cool, because who doesn’t like Oreos, Doritos, and cheap pizza? However, my pals and I can actually cook, and what we offer is far superior (I insist). Game night provides a sense of timeless comfort for my gang, as we’ve been rolling dice together for decades, so the perfect accompaniment is comfort food!

This recipe is pretty simple with a few wholesome ingredients that render a pot full of stick-to-your-ribs goodness, and I’ve made a couple special tweaks to this tried & true dish that has appeared on dinner tables for a very long time. Check it out!

GOULASH

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground beef
1 diced green pepper
1 diced yellow onion
4 cloves of garlic minced
4 TBSP Smoke Paprika
1 can diced tomatoes
3 carrots grated extra fine
Wide Egg Noodles [amount varies to your preference]
1 cup beef stock
2 cups milk **Note** Footage of me introducing milk for reduction got deleted somehow,(life can be breathtakingly cruel I know)

Directions:

Brown the ground beef, and season with salt & pepper. Drain, and set aside.

Add extra virgin olive oil to the pot, and maybe some butter (I prefer it, but it isn’t necessary), then sweat green pepper, onion, garlic, and carrots on medium high heat until softened.

Stir in ground beef, paprika, diced tomatoes, and beef stock, then simmer until thickened. Carefully add milk (if you’re lactose intolerant, forget the milk and continue to add more beef stock for the reduction) in increments, while stirring until it reaches desired consistency.

This is a good time to cook that pasta, and stir both throughout. Stir in pasta once it is fully cooked.

*Add-ins might include being topped off with crumbled cheese, sour cream, or french fried onions!

Thanks for reading, and maybe tuning in to the video provided! Hit me up in the comments section below with suggestions, or verbal abuse.

Curtis Ray Meade

Factory Slob, Roller of Dice, Singer/Songwriter & Internet Personality

--

--

Curtyourfavorite
First Table Gaming

A married, father of one with a terrific beard. I sing, cook, drink, and clown in equal measure. My interests are Dungeons & Dragons, horror movies, craft beers