How I Grew up Through Running

By, Danielle Jaculewicz

It was a fall day at Woodland Park in Seattle when I first discovered my ability to run. That sunny day in Woodland Park, hundreds of tiny five-year-olds from across Seattle would be tumbling down the roughly 800-meter cross-country course. My mom had signed me up for Kindergarten Cross Country at St. Catherine School as a fun way to let out my energy and spend time with my friends. Minutes after the start of the race, my mom’s friend came up to her saying, “Danielle is finishing in the lead.” My mom ran to the finish, pushing my three year old sister in her stroller completely shocked. Two years before I was diagnosed with stage 3 Renal Cell Carcinoma cancer. My mom and dad had no idea that I would have ability in sports after that. Little did I know, my love of running would shape my identity and change the course of my life.

I do not remember much about the actual running from that time period in my athletic career; what I do remember is winning. I won nearly every race I competed in against other young girls from Seattle in a local recreational league. I trademarked myself by running with my hair down and long, crazy socks. Though I do not compete in this style anymore, people at meets still approach me saying they always remember me by my rainbow socks.

My parents found a local club team called Rain City Flyers where I found other youth runners who were much faster than me. Being so young and naive, I did not understand what it was like to not win all my races. With Rain City Flyers I went on to compete in 10 USATF Junior Olympic National Championships. I was exposed to talent all over the country. One pivotal moment for me was competing at Nationals in 2010 in Wichita. I was seven years old, stepping out onto the hot, 100-degree track completely alone. For a seven-year-old, this was about the biggest moment of my life. As the gun went off, all the girls in my heat immediately started running fast. Deflated, crossing the line in close to last place, I told my mom that I would give up every trip to Disneyland and every American Girl Doll I own to run that race again. I try to approach every race I compete in to this day with the same mentality, to give it everything I have.

The most monumental moment in my club career was becoming a Junior Olympic All- American. To become an All-American, one has to finish in the top 25 of their race at the Cross Country National Championship. I became an All-American in Albuquerque, N. M. in 2012. I was very competitive that season in the Pacific Northwest Region and finished 10th in the nation for the 10–12 age group. Club cross country and track gave me incredible chances to compete all over the country, which have become highlights of my life thus far.

The biggest setback in my athletic career happened in the summer of 2016. I had finished my day competing in a local track meet, and was satisfied with my results. That night I awoke to the strongest pain in my abdomen. Pain was shooting through every inch of my body and I did not know why. My parents took me to the emergency room, and I had surgery the next day to remove a nine-centimeter cyst from my fallopian tube. I was only 13 years old at this point and had already gone through two invasive surgeries on my abdomen. From that point on, it was all about recovery. I dropped out of nearly every race I competed in during cross country. This was due to immense pain from all the scarred tissue. This was concerning because it was my last year competing before high school, where I would have to compete against girls who were much stronger and faster.

High school cross country and track has been truly a special experience. In the two years I have been at Bishop Blanchet High School, we have created a name program in the Seattle area. The dedication my cross-country team puts into our training and preparation has taken us far. We are a team made up of girls who may not have been born with an insane talent for the sport, but have the work ethic to make up for it. This past November, my team got fourth place at the state championship. We were not predicted to do so well, but every single girl on my varsity team went to work on the race course. I have had a unique experience competing at a high level from a young age, and it has truly become a huge part of my identity. Every season I have competed in since I was six years old has had its ups and downs, yet I have not given up on the sport.

Through running I have learned discipline, dedication, mental toughness and a deep appreciation for athletics. As I have gotten older, I do not win every race I compete in like my days in Seattle Parks and Recreation. My parents have become cross-country parents, though neither of them has ever run competitively. Through this sport I have developed life long friendships. I am going to continue to run for the remainder of my life, whether that is competitively or not. I believe that I was put on Earth to run. From that first day at Woodland Park when I shocked everyone who knew me, to now when I compete in high school races with my team I have been running with strength and courage. Cross country may not be a sport for many, but for me it has been the greatest thing that has come into my life.

--

--

Danielle Jaculewicz
First Update in Sports with Danielle Jaculewicz

Danielle Jaculewicz is a student in the Sports Journalism and Multi-platform Storytelling class.