From The *Doing of Fitness to the Embodiment of *Being FiT

Shawn Phillips
FIT for SUCCESS
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2018

In my teens I played the guitar. Seriously, I did.

I didn’t suck at it either. I still have it here with all my sheets of music. It’s weird to think about how I played all these songs. How my fingers moved without me having to focus on them.

Now, when I try to play my fingers don’t bend that way. I have no mind-body connections left that produce clear chords. I literally must go back to relearn it, one chord at a time.

When I see a person effortlessly playing the guitar, free of any need for conscious thought about the free flowing chords, I think of how the fitness “master” must look to those who find fitness a constant effort and struggle.

To the experienced guitar player the student is expected to be just that. Neither assumes the student to just start playing songs. They share the understanding that the skill is developed and progress is the reward of practice.

Yet, often in fitness the “skilled player” simply assigns the chords and demands that the student play. It’s just a “do as I say,” approach without the sort of understanding that practice is required to develop the coordination of body and mind and integration of lifestyle.

The result of this “just do it,” a breakdown in understanding the process of integration, is frustration for both teacher and student.

For both it creates for unrealistic expectations and demands. The result is the experience that permeates the diet, weight loss and fitness industry: Repeated failures and perpetual struggle.

In his timeless masterwork, The Art of War, Sun Tzu shares what he sees as the path to moving from novice to master. A vitally necessary but relatively simple three steps: View, Practice and Action.

View Practice Action

View:

One first attains a new view on something. You are given this view, taught it. It is basically out there — seen as outside yourself while retained in your head. This new skill, technique, knowledge is where it all starts.

Practice:

This is the repetition of bringing it in from outside in. From your head to your body. You must do that practice, repeat it. And repeat again. This practice moves it from “knowing of” to the “experience of.”

Action:

This is the level of the master guitar player, the fitness “guru” — the living embodiment of what began as view. You no longer have to think about the chords you just are the music.

You no longer have to live by a “diet” you simply are the one who eats for your goals.

From Doing to Being

To me, and I hope for you, this offers some profound clarity on how we move from novice to master — from seeing, to doing, to being.

And in so doing, that this simple, sound and ultimately rational path offers relief from the frustration and self punishment that not getting fitness instantly can bring.

When it comes to mastering any skill in life: Be kind yourself. Be patient. Be persistent. And do the work.

That is all.

If you could use some direction, support, accountability…a tribe, check out my 100 Day Strong Challenge for 2018.

It’s the great way to ensure a GREAT ’18.

--

--

Shawn Phillips
FIT for SUCCESS

The Philosopher of FiT: Father, author, cyclist, Integral | Zen of Strength & Full Strength Man. 30 yrs in Strength & FiT