3 is the magic number (well 3.6 actually)

Simon Roberts
3 min readJan 18, 2016

--

As we enter week 3 of #MHTransform as usual it’s time for me to reflect on the past week, but first of all let’s start with a quick celebration!

After 2 solid weeks of very good eating, exercise and commitment to this life change I am very happy to have stepped on the scales this morning and see I’ve lost 3.6kg of weight…and boy do I feel better for it! It’s amazing what difference the changes have made mentally and physically to me…albeit I seem to be suffering with a slight tweak of my right knee ligaments, so hopefully it won’t hinder me too much in week 3.

The weight loss and wellbeing certainly help reinforce my dedication to this change, so bring on the next 10 weeks, actually bring on the rest of my life…this is not a short term project, it’s a way of life!

Last week was a funny week for me, full of challenges to my discipline around the diet and exercise.

Firstly, my training partner (wife) was away in the U.S. so I had no real home support, and not just in the gym. Being on the go from 6am to 630pm with work, and having to ensure you get your shake in the morning, get the kids sorted for school, get them to the childminder and then get to work is a challenge with both of us around, so on my jack jones it was even tougher. Then picking up and getting home; bathing, exercising, cooking, eating, resting and bedtime all needs to be done in around 90 minutes…that’s tough, plus having to think about conjuring up new recipes to keep the food side of things interesting.

Secondly, I was out of the office for 2 days last week, and whilst I have been using the wonderful restaurant in work at breakfast and lunchtimes to ensure I get the right fuel through the day, there was no such option in London, so I found myself scratching around to find the right type of eats for my diet; almond milk porridge at Leon in Kings across is not advisable!

The final challenge also revolved around food; How do you keep it interesting? How do you celebrate good things happening when you are on a controlled diet?

Turkey, chicken, pork, without sauces and stuff can become very dull, and despite my seasoning skills, the last couple of days were hard. Also whilst my wife was away she was promoted (high five), and naturally we wanted to celebrate when she got home on Friday; normally with a glass or two of wine and a nice meal, but this needed to be very well controlled….I don’t like looking over menus and not being able to have what I really want! No alcohol was consumed and chicken (yes again) skewers and sweet potato fries were my chosen option…self control is a wonderful horrible thing!

So onto week 3, as mentioned I am hoping my knee doesn’t hinder me this week, so I’ve got to exercise caution here, but I am looking forward to it. In addition, I’ve the weekend we rustled up some new snacks to help through the week; chocolate cookie dough protein balls, they are a right touch and help with any sugar cravings, although I do get a bit of “Agave Mouth” after them!

That’s me done, good luck to you all this week, stay committed and it will happen!

--

--

Simon Roberts

Wandering through the digital, product, operations & start up landscape with equal amounts of ease and uncertainty