A Clever life changing decision I made

Issac Thomas
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2017

That one clever life changing decision I made was:-

To leave my parents and start living on my own

Why it was a clever life changing decision because:-

Parents are your shield and they will always protect you from the raw realities of the world. In your home sweet home, you are safe and sound.

Quite pampered in the comforts of your house.

Making you weak in the process.

When I stepped out, I realized how tough it is to make a living. I learned

Every penny you earn matters.

Respect for my father and mother increased manifold for nurturing me with their hard earned money for so long.

The list of sacrifices they made was too long.

I realized it when I started earning.

Before that I was a spendthrift like any other boy of my age who won’t value money.

Living alone taught me to manage my bills, from rent to electricity bills, from WiFi to petrol expenses, From food to occasional drinks on weekends.

I began living on tight budgets.

The greatest lesson I learned

My parents gave up trying to convince me to learn cooking but being the stubborn boy I was, I never did.

Until I started living on my own.

Within three months, I realized eating out always was not only expensive but unhealthy as well.

So I learned cooking through YouTube and through some long phone calls with my Ma and pa.

Now I make some amazing chicken curry and have hosted some memorable house parties with friends.

Though life is still a mess,

but yes

I am bit more confident and I feel a bit more stronger

Living on my own has turned out to be quite good till now.

--

--