Christina O'Neal
1 min readFeb 1, 2016

Always Take Care of Yourself First…How?

I think most mom’s can relate to the reality that we get our kids ready, tend to their needs and before we know it, we realize we had a cup of coffee, no lunch, and it’s 4 pm. Also, if you are like me, when you have the chance to drink water, you drink like you just came across an oasis in a desert.

I get it. I get that I am only as good enough to tend my boys if I give myself energy and nutrition, but literally, how? Do I let my kids cry while I say, “hold on honey, I just gotta eat this sandwich before I make you happy”, or tend to them and realize while I pour myself that much deserved glass of wine at 5pm, that I didn’t have a great breakfast and nothing for lunch.

I’m working on it. I’m always working on it. Maybe when they get older it will be easier but at the same time with my older child’s special needs and a non schedule, all I can do is try.

Christina O'Neal

Raising a child with a rare genetic disorder and learning to navigate a special needs world. http:// miracleofsquish.blogspot.com