Credit: Google https://theglasshousegirls.com/articles/the-living-room/will-body-shaming-ever-end.html

Body-shaming isn’t a joke.

Should loving someone base on the size of their body?

Irene Bitjoli
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2018

--

Body-shaming, sexual abused, sexual harassment, raping, racism is this world main problem that people don’t think of it very seriously. And I think people don’t care about human rights. Because if they do, that kind of problems won’t be so serious if they start respecting people no matter who they are.

Back to my topic, body-shaming, I think there’s still a lot of people doesn’t really know what it is. Because people think mocking somebody is fat/skinny is a joke. And feel sad about being bully as a fat/skinny person and standing up for it, make it a lot worse. They would ask you to look your body from bottom to top, are you perfect already? And let me ask you,

What is the perfect body?

Before we get there, I want to tell you something.

I’ve been body-shamed all my life by many people. First, I never thought of myself fat, I thought I was average, but then a lot of people, close friends, and even my parents called me fat. Even little kids told me I was fat. But what I felt all this time, I never tell to anyone. Because they would lecture me that I shouldn’t eat too much, start losing weight, you are overweight, people won’t play with you, and it’s become my social anxiety. Seeing my friends, who seems so average for me, making me ashamed of my body. I thought that they don’t want to be friends with me because I’m fat. And that’s why I avoided society a lot, because of the size of my body. Why I wear clothes that will make me look thin before going out. And now, I’m tired of that, I’m tired of sticking to the rules.

But it doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t lose/gain weight. But it means that you are in control of you, not some judgment that is letting you down, and an encouragement for you to see that you are you, and nobody gonna change that and they must accept that.

How can you start loving yourself if you’re not confident of being who you are?

Mental illness is very serious in this case. Because all the negative judgment that strike us can pull us down into a hole where we can’t get back up. For me, having depression and social anxiety is hard when you are being body-shamed. All you could think of that you don’t deserve anything because of your body and you better off be gone rather being hurt by the way you look. I had thought of suicide, but I know isn’t the right way to end this madness, and I imagine all people who’re going through of this problem like I do, we don’t want to be put aside because the way we look, but we want to stand to own our rights. We can be whoever we want and not let a negative judgment let us down, but make them jealous of you, because loving yourself is important.

The Perfect Body thing is stupid. The only perfect body is our own body, the body we are confident with, the body that makes us happy no matter what. And here I want to tell you guys out there,

BODY-SHAMING IS NOT A JOKE.

You can’t laugh it off because someone is fat, you can’t be mad at someone who’s too skinny, but you need to see what they are dealing with before you judgment them. You need to realize that everyone has the rights to be whoever they want without being mocked. And if there are someone who’s suffering from it, help them, encourage them, do not let them end a beautiful life just because of their body size.

Believe in yourself and love your own body ❤

*Sorry if I make mistake in writing this because it took me two months to write this and mostly this base on my personal experience. So I’m sorry if there are words that offending, and words that aren’t really understandable because English isn’t my first language. Thank you!*

--

--