Compromise and Innovation

Sunshine Carusi Trugillo
2 min readJan 19, 2016

--

I know, I know, I let this go for a couple of days, but I did not have much to write about. However, I have finally perfected my black bean burger recipe and I just had to share!

I spent nearly two months experimenting with numerous handicapped recipes. Most of the vegan recipes I found required more produce than I had the money for and they made way more than just I could eat alone. Vegetarian were a little better, but still had more than what I had in the house. Finally, I took to making my own recipes. I tried with black beans, kidney beans, and garbanzo beans. I used premade spice mixes and my own combinations. I used fresh garlic and garlic salt. All in varying concoctions that usually ended with me screaming at my pan and scraping the burnt remnants from the “no-stick” surface of my pans.

Today, however, I made a break through. Out of sheer necessity, and with no other options for lunch, I decided to give it a go with my last can of black beans. I am amazed at how these “budget” burgers came out and am pleased to say I have found the recipe I will be using from now on for my black bean burgers.

Here is the recipe!

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 egg

Approximately 1/4 cup of instant mashed potatoes.

Burger seasoning to taste

Mash all the ingredients together until the make a thick paste that doesn’t stick to your hands. Fry over medium high heat in about 1 Tbsp of coconut oil until both sides have a light brown crisp to them. I enjoy mine with a little bit of mayo and ketchup, tomato slices if I have them.

This recipe is all about cheap, easily accessible ingredients. I love it and will be using it frequently now. Bon Appetit!

--

--

Sunshine Carusi Trugillo

After a long hiatus, I'm thinking it's time to revisit and revise this blog!