How being a shitty minion taught me to not give a fuck

Ronald RC
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2016
Worst. Costume. Ever

So that’s me,in my Halloween costume from 2 years ago when I decided to enter my company’s costume contest. It looks shitty, I was aware of that as all the pieces were coming together. In a way I was proud of how bad it looked and thought that I was going to be able to embrace it and feel confident when I walked into the party .

But no,hell no, as soon as I stepped out of my car and put on my minion head/trash bin on I felt a surge of anxiety kick in, I wanted to leave bad. You know how all of these self help books tell you that no one is really judging you because they care too much about themselves? Well this was that one situation where this didn’t apply. EVERYONE was staring at me, they stopped whatever conversation they were having and pointing at me, the bargain bin minion walking in. I consciously knew I was being singled out and judged and yet I found it kinda hilarious and fun.

The reactions I got could be divided into 2 camps, those that cheered me on and laughed at me which I instinctively stuck my hand out and gave them a high five, and those who would look at me and roll their eyes to which I also offered them a high five and got nothing.

I realized everyone has a perception of me, but it was really up to me if I decided to shy away and let these perceptions get to me or just stick my hand out for a high five and try to have fun embracing whatever the fuck I was at that moment. At the end of the day I couldn’t really control what people thought of me, so might as well do my thing and stop worrying about shit that’s out of my grasp.

At the end of the night I waddled my way back to my car with this newfound confidence, a displaced minion eye and a 3rd place trophy from the contest. Not a bad night for a bargain bin minion.

--

--

Ronald RC
Fit Yourself Club

Scrum master by day, salsa dancer by night. Currently giving fre goal setting coaching sessions @ https://calendly.com/rcaste91/coaching-session