I Love Wild n Crazy Old-er Women

Michelle Monet
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
3 min readSep 10, 2018

I wanna be one!

I’ll be turning 57 in October so I guess I am officially in the ‘old-er lady’ (Old geezer?) category.

Yep. I even get sent AARP pamphlets and brochures now in the mail. I am now offered the ‘Senior Discounts’ at restaurants. That is a good thing, but I forget to ask for it most of the time.

I am always attracted to and inspired by women in their later years who are still rockin’ it! Feisty older broads like, Betty White, Cloris Leachman, Carol Burnett, Rita Moreno etc. Just thinking about these older spunky saucy women keep me going sometimes.

I found out about an old Cabaret singer named Marilyn Maye. She is 90 now, and still selling out doing live performances around the country with her cabaret show. DAMN! Thats cool!

Marilyn Maye.

I love to think that life really doesn’t have to all go downhill for older people.

I have a friend Barb who is 81 and she is feistier than ever. She and I hve been ‘friends’ for over 20 years and we still talk almost daily on the phone. She said,

“ My life didn’t really begin until after 60. I didn’t know SHIT until then!!”

That is always inspiring to hear.

I wrote a song about it recently, which I published in the chapter ‘GROWING BOLDER”, in my new book ‘A.H.A’, as a poem. It will also be in an upcoming Musical I am working on, called Two Old Feisty Broads. These fun lyrics will be sung to the tune of the Stevie Wonder classic ‘For Once in My Life’. It will be performed with two feisty female vocalists.

TWO OLD FEISTY BROADS

VERSE 1:

For once in our lives
We don’t care what
They’re thinking
Now that we’re

Feisty old broads.

For once we can eat Krispy Kreme’s
Without blinking
Cuz now we’re ok
With our bods

VERSE 2:

Once we could reach for
Our toes without groaning
It was so eeeeeasy beeefooore

Now our boobs
Just touch the floor…

We are women hear us ROAR!

VERSE 3:

For once in our lives
We wear shoes that don’t hurt us
Not like high heels did before

For most of our days we choose to
Wear slippers
Even to drive to the store

VERSE 4:

For once in our lives we can stop
Hiding wrinkles
We can laugh at our hormones and

Untimely
Tinkles!

For once we can cheer

Cuz we’re

Two
Old
Feisty
Broads.

VERSE 5:

For once we can go to bed
With our sweats on
Not lingerie like the past

For once we can go paint the town
Without makeup
Now we are comfy at last

VERSE 6
For once we can throw off our bras
Cuz they’re too tight,

We now proudly
Call

Our grey hairs…

Wisdom
HIGHLIGHTS!

For once in our lives
We don’t feel that we are

Frauds…

Because

We’re happy to be

Two
Old
Feisty
(Saucy.
Spicy
Sassy)

BROADS!

Here’s to aging. Growing Bolder!

THANKS FOR READING!

www.michellemonet.com

--

--

Michelle Monet
Fit Yourself Club

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com