I wanted those cookies…

Two hearts became one
2 min readJan 31, 2016

--

A day can sure turn out to be a perfect sheet of slightly BURNT double chocolate chip cookies. I waited for the perfect day to finally bake these. The day I’d be in the mood to sit down & enjoy a few with a cold glass of milk. As i continued to peek through the oven door, waiting for the timer to beep I thought about how yummy they were & the aroma filled the room.

The timer beeped and I quickly pulled out the cookie sheet & allowed them to cool. They appeared to be slightly dark. Darker than I liked. Harder and crunchier than I desired. I immediately skimmed the directions & length of baking time. All was correct. Where did I go wrong?

As I sat back & pondered, it occurred to me that it happens. It’s okay to burn a batch here & there. I’m not a terrible baker. I won’t allow it to classify me as a failure. Instead I will brush it off and go on with my day. Every life’s curve ball may not result in a pleasant outcome. Regardless of the prep put into the situation prior to.

The importance is the effect is leaves on you. Does it ruin your day? Does it allow you to beat yourself up? Does it tear down your self esteem? Show your everyday who’s boss. Be in control of your happiness. It’s okay to not be perfect. After all their is only one Jesus. One BURNT batch of double chocolate cookies came close to robbing my peace. Instead I smiled and went on with my glorious Sunday. What will you do the next time the outcome isn’t as you desired it’d be?

--

--