It’s Time

Dr. Rachel KallemWhitman
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
1 min readJan 20, 2017

Today I am heartbroken. I am disillusioned with democracy. I am questioning our nation’s capacity for humanity.

Tomorrow I’m marching with my brothers/sisters/siblings in a city that I love as an act of solidarity and as a sign of our tenacity. I will stand in front of my community and remind us all that we are stronger together. When we respect one another, educate one another, and take care of one another awareness turns to acceptance and acceptances turns to action.

The day after I will be hopeful. I will feel honored to have spoken to so many people and inspired to keep advocating. I will remind myself that when compassionate people work together they can make positive change.

Over the next four years there will undoubtedly be struggle but I will do my best to have faith in other people as well as my own potential to make progress.

I have never felt more frightened and more powerful in my entire life.

To summarize my speech = Disability Rights are Human Rights

--

--

Dr. Rachel KallemWhitman
Fit Yourself Club

Educator, advocate, and writer who has been shacking up with bipolar disorder since 2000. The “Dr.” is silent. The bad jokes are loud ❤ seebrightness.com