My co-workers and their screens are freaking me out.

Chris Marchie
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2018

Don’t make me drag you away from the computer, Janet.

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

So working a desk job isn’t my favorite.

I actually like the work I do for someone else (a rarity on Medium, it seems). I get to be around people. I save a lot of money. I laugh a lot. There’s always free food (that usually falls within my boundaries).

But I’m deeply concerned for my co-workers.

I watch them sit behind screens for most of the day, often choking down carbs and hear their voices turn sleepy. Their joint pains always getting worse. Surgeries. Illnesses. Winter I thought would be the worst of it, but summer is right on pace.

It’s not that I’m trying to be up on my high-horse here (Life goal: Learn how to ride an actual horse), but since I changed my entire outlook on health, functioning in these spaces is just harder. It’s weird to be the only one not completely tethered to my screen.

Me? I go for walks every two hours. I sit in the grass a lot. Eat paleo-ish. Work out 4 times a week.

My co-workers? Carbs. Sitting. More carbs. More sitting. And then, like clockwork, they get sick.

And maybe this is a sign that I’m ready to ditch office work and move towards a health and wellness career (I’ve been thinking about that move a lot lately), but it genuinely spikes my blood pressure when I think of all the people out there literally sitting themselves to an early grave.

I fully believe in connection with the earth. Our ancestors lived outside and played in the wilderness for a very very very long time. Nowadays I wonder how many of us have touched the grass let alone a tree.

Trees, in particular, have an energy you can feel just by reaching out your hand. Seriously, do it. I really (don’t think) I’m making this up.

A childhood friend of mine in her first engineering job out of college wasn’t even allowed to go for a walk.

She sat in a gray cubicle for 8 hours a day with no sunlight and wasn’t even allowed to leave. What the fuck are these people thinking?

This lifestyle just isn’t good. It’s an epidemic.

Maybe not an actual epidemic, that word just sounds serious and I’m trying to be a very serious person here.

Every time I stroll out of the office to take a jaunt around the block, I watch my co-workers lean over their computers and, honestly, I just get a little sad.

This just isn’t working. It really isn’t.

--

--