New Method of Motivation

Sunshine Carusi Trugillo
1 min readJan 16, 2016

--

“Never underestimate the power of stupid people in a group”. My entire duration of high school, this sign hung on my English teacher’s door. It made me chuckle when I walked into his room, but now, more than ever, I understand how easily that phrase can be altered. Never underestimate the power of people in groups. Period.

A friend and I were discussing fitness goals last night and while hers are more to get tone than to lose weight, we both have something we are working for. To create motivation, I threw a fun little wager out there. I bet her ten dollars that by July 30, I could be closer to my goal than her. She accepted it eagerly and took it a step further. Long story short, we are trying to pull together as big of a group as we can to join in this challenge in a winner takes all battle to the fitness.

Basically, everyone pays an entrance fee of $10 and whoever is closest to their goals by the final date, wins everything. So far, our pot is up to $30. I am looking forward to this and have already started a journal to track my progress and food intake. I wrote down my ultimate goal, my goal for the challenge, and my goal to lose for each month. With all of that in mind and on paper, I am thrilled and inspired to stay on track. Especially with $30 at stake.

So, time to go make breakfast and get on with my day. Bon Appetit!

--

--

Sunshine Carusi Trugillo

After a long hiatus, I'm thinking it's time to revisit and revise this blog!