5 STEPS TO MEASURE YOUR HEALTH STATUS

Dr. Vaibhav Namdev
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2018

One day, I woke up, was standing in front of mirror, thinking about my out-projecting belly.

Exactly like this:

I started feeling bad, tagged myself unhealthy, started working out from the next day and decided to lose some weight.

Most of us keep doing exercises.

Now one day when looking into mirror again, we either not find that belly annoying and cosmetically unacceptable anymore or we are there only where we started.

While working with this, I asked myself

Is taaging myself unhealthy based on belly size appropriate?

How do I know whether I am really obese or not?

I recollected concept of measuring health from one of my books.

Let me tell you…

5 STEPS TO MEASURE YOUR HEALTH STATUS

  1. Measure your weight in kilograms.
  2. Measure your height in meters.
  3. Now calculate Body Mass Index (BMI) by dividing the weight in Kg and square of height in meters.
  • For example, you are having weight of 70 kgs and height is 166 cms that being 1.66 meters.
  • Divide 70 and (1.66x1.66) = 25.40. The BMI is 25.4
  • More easier would be Google search BMI and fill in the details.

4. If your BMI is

  • Less than 18.5 = Its Underweight, means you need to gain weight.
  • 18.5–25 = Its Healthy. Meaning you need to maintain it.
  • 25–30= Its Overweight. The need of losing some weight is knocking your doors.
  • More than 30= Its Obesity. You seriously need to start working out the next day.

5. This chart will help you.

Its simple: Work out and keep monitoring.

Stay Healthy Stay Happy

--

--