Open your eyes wider!

Goncalo Gordo
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readJan 25, 2018

You know how sometimes, in life, the biggest and most important lessons come from the least expected places?

This happened to me recently on a trip to Kenya. There, I met Amos, our safari guide. But, as the days passed, he turned out to be so much more than that!

Today I’m sharing with you one of his favorite life lessons: Open Your Eyes Widerrrr!

A safari is all about seeing as many animals as possible. So, while we were trying to accomplish this goal, Amos would frequently ask: “which and how many animals do you see now?”. Despite our eagerness to impress him with our answers, we rarely saw the “whole picture”. There were always more animals in plain sight thanthe ones we could spot. That’s when he would share his ‘savanna’ wisdom with us: “you need to open your eyes wider”!

After getting back home, his advice got me thinking: which are the things that I’m searching for but that are actually right in front of me? Finding them would simply require me to open my eyes wider, just like Amos taught us.

I still don’t have a good answer, but I’ve taken the first step: I’m starting to ask the question.

A special thank you to inesvanmuysen for her help and feedback on this story!

--

--

Goncalo Gordo
Fit Yourself Club

Using data to improve healthcare • Founder @Healthy_Labs