Praying with Open Hands

Dawn Benson Jones
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
3 min readNov 27, 2017
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

I had no idea how my time in the school library that day would forever change the way I pray.

Several years ago, I volunteered to be a library helper at my children’s school. Now at this particular school, it was customary for the librarian to begin her time with the students by leading them in prayer. This was not the first time I had been a part of the ritual, but on this one occasion, the librarian did something that has stuck with me to this day.

Instead of allowing the children to assume a variety of postures for prayer, she instructed them to open their hands and face them toward Heaven so they would be ready to receive the blessings God would pour out on them. I have to admit that I was immediately captivated by the beauty of this image. It was a powerful reminder to pray expecting to receive from God.

Recently, God has challenged me to take this practice to a whole new level.

He has made me aware that many times, though I might indeed have my hands facing toward Him, they are not open to receive. Instead, they are clenched in a tight fist holding on to something that I refuse to release.

I have discovered that when my hands are closed tightly, it means that God has nowhere to pour out His blessings because my hands are already full — full of my wants, my desires, my plans, and quite literally my own fingers. As I raise my clenched fists heavenward, I can almost hear Him lovingly whisper…

My dear child, please let go of all of your coins and trinkets. Don’t you know that I have so much more for you?

As a result, I have discovered that I must first turn my fists downward, open up my hands, and allow all of my junk to fall to the ground before I can raise open hands toward Heaven and receive all that my Father has for me.

Photo by Evan Kirby on Unsplash

Each time I go through these motions, it serves to remind me that “he who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine” (Ephesians 3:20) is in control and has my best interest at heart.

What might you be holding tightly in your grasp? Are you willing to open up your hands and trade your plans for God’s?

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

If you found this article helpful, I would appreciate your applause. I would also love to read any comments you might have.

--

--

Dawn Benson Jones
Fit Yourself Club

My passions are faith, family, and writing. Visit dawnbensonjones.com for more inspiring ideas to help your family grow deep roots of faith.