Running

Suzanne Fairman
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2016

Running has been part of my life since 1977. I was 11 at that time and my world was completely sheltered. An unimaginable time with no lap tops, iPads, internet, cell phones, let alone smart phones. Atari was the all the rage. My neighbors, who I babysat for were physical fit and running was part of their regime. Not sure if it was pity or I was a pain in the ass, but Ed, the father of the kids I watched, allowed me to tag along on his morning runs. Ed taught me about breathing techniques, how to pace myself and the patience of building up endurance. I’ve been running on and off ever since. Ed or his wife Carol will never know the impact they left on my life.

Runners high is real. Serotonin levels soar after a run, there’s no better feeling. Running is also a past time I have control over. I can choose where to run, duration, distance, pace, tweak upon or not. It’s a happy hobby that I love.

I used the Nike GPS chip (old school) to keep track of my runs, prior to the Nike app. They both measure time, pace and tack all runs. The only difference was, with the chip, I had to download my runs. With the app, all my runs are conveniently and easily accessible on my phone. This little tool has helped me stay inspired. This past year my runs have been less frequent and my pace has slowed considerably, but this weekend I hit 3000 miles. That really struck a cord with me, it woke me up out of slumber. Now running is calling me to get out there more, go further and go faster.

--

--

Suzanne Fairman
Fit Yourself Club

Wide awake. Vibrationally aligned. Favorite role, Gigi. Love to create and inspire.