Inge Williams
3 min readMay 28, 2017

Sometimes, timing is everything…

My life at the moment seems to be up in the air as I need to move house and sometimes I feel like I cant make any decisions beyond this house move. The pressure is on, to find the perfect house for me and my family, I've just started a new job and I am now back to being a full time working Mum (arrrggghhh) and just to make things a but more interesting…. I am overweight and turning 40 in October!

Now rewind to about a year ago exactly, I had just finished the Crystal Palace Triathlon and I was on top physical form. I was swimming, running, cycling like mad and I loved it. Job satisfaction was at an all time low but in this respect…. being a Mum Who Tri’s… was something I was kicking ass at. And I learned so much much about myself. I learned that I can stick to a training schedule, I can be disciplined, I can learn something new, I can push myself and I can fit into a wetsuit and more importantly, I was able to do this while being… a full time working MUM!

I went on to do another Triathlon in 2016, a duathlon and a few 10K races here and there and never did I feel better about myself. And then, it all came crashing down when I left work towards the end of last year and had to make the decision of what to do next. I took some time off and had delusions of grandeur of how I was to take over the world with the next new Mummy invention or start a business of sorts using my skills (I still have no idea of what they are) to make my first million.

Life decided to have other plans for me and I had no choice but to return to work, working full time again… But anyone who knows me knows that, I wouldn't be me, without a challenge looming over my head, wanting to sink my teeth into the next big challenge…

2017, is the year I turn 40, I am overweight, I started a new job a month ago, I need to move house, I am a Mum to two lovely little boys (one of whom I occasionally want to return and get my money back)…Its going to be hard.

For me, I want to go into my forties with a bang, and on top of everything, I want to be #morethanamum, I want to be MY BEST SELF, I want to be proud of me again, I want to motivate others, I want the same sense of achievement I felt in 2016- in 2017!

I have no doubt that I can do it.

So the challenge is this, I will be signing up to two events in the next week:

  1. A pool based Triathlon in September (OW swimming will have to wait until 2018 and I probably wont fit into the wetsuit anyway
  2. A Half Marathon in the beginning of October as I will mostly be drinking prosecco towards the middle of October as I turn the BIG 4-0!!

What Id like to do is show women and busy Mums in particular that it can be done. you can take on a challenge and be great and feel good about it. Yes its hard when you have little ones but at the same time, feeling guilty about taking out time for yourself is such a waste of time compared to your kids benefiting from having a Mummy who believes in herself, sets a good example by keeping active and believes in herself… (can I get a Whoop Whoop!!)

I have proven to myself that I can do anything I put my mind to, be it swimming in open water without the security of a wall, kicking ass at work or baking that bloody chocolate cake 20 times before I get it right. I WILL NOT BE BEATEN, I WILL KICK ASS, I WILL BE #morethanamum

Follow me on my journey and let me show you how it can be done at:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/More-Than-A-Mum-SEL-724461901067881/

Instragram: @morethanamum_sel

Twitter: @MoreThanAMumSEL