Super Bowl Party Terrors

I attended a Super bowl party while on a cleanse and it wasn’t as terrible as you’d think.

Fit Yourself Club
Published in
5 min readFeb 6, 2018

--

Every so often I order a teatox package. With the option of buying either a 14-day or a 28-day, it’s a great cleanse that helps to rid the bloat and the yucky feeling that comes with it. I do it probably two or three times a year. Some times I’ll do one either before or after the summer, but after the holidays is always a must.

Instead of starting it January 1st, when everyone else began their new diets, I decided to wait until February 1st. I just knew there wasn’t much happening in this month that would include excessive drinking or sweets. I also wanted to have it done and over with before St. Patrick’s day.

Let me explain a little what this “teatox” is exactly. No, it is not 28 days of just drinking tea without food. I could never do any sort of diet that didn’t allow me to eat real food. I love it way too much! This particular teatox gives you tea for the duration of your cleanse. You get 28 (or 14) morning tea bags that are meant to be had every morning when you wake up, before or with breakfast. You also get 14 (or 7) night time tea bags. These ones you only take every other day, after you’re done eating for the night. These bad boys are what really helps to flush your system out.

And that’s it! Of course, you’re encouraged to make smarter eating habits and exercise regularly during this 14–28 day period, but it’s not a requirement. I calorie count and go hard at the gym, in attempt to make these days really count.

I began my cleanse about a week ago. I knew I’d have to make sacrifices on what I chose to eat and drink. But I felt confident and happy that I wouldn’t have to miss out on too much due to my desire to get my health back on track. But I had forgotten one minor thing. The Super bowl.

I don’t care for football, or sports in general, but I do love me a good Super bowl party. Who doesn’t love the endless finger food??? The wings, the pigs in a blanket, pizza rolls, deviled eggs! Ugh my mouth is watering just thinking about it. Commercials and the food. That’s why I go to Super bowl parties. But alas, I couldn’t just stuff the delicious little sodium packed treats in my mouth without thought. I couldn’t let myself tear apart the perfectly crafted cupcakes frosted to look like a football.

Just the thought of how I couldn’t mindlessly eat whatever I wanted from a table of endless possibilities made me want to cry. But you know what made me feel better? I put my jeans on.

Well, let me elaborate on that. Lately my jeans had been feeling snug. All my pants had been, actually. I’d have to wear layers to cover up the mini muffin top that was beginning to form. But when I put them on the other day, after only a week of eating smarter and no booze, they actually felt comfortable for the first time in weeks. I wore a simple outfit of jeans and a t-shirt but absolutely loved that I didn’t feel squished in anyway.

So, when I finally made it to the dreaded party, I didn’t pout or cry over what I couldn’t eat. I chose the things that I knew would do my body right. And, with the amazing friends I have, they made sure to provide healthy(er) things that I could snack on that wouldn’t completely throw off my diet.

I ended up having a great time and did eat a lot, I’m not going to lie. But I had an easier time avoiding the cupcakes, cheesy bread, and spinach artichoke dip. My tummy was happily full of carrots, cucumbers, shrimp, sausage with peppers and onions, crackers with goat cheese and only 1 chocolate covered pretzel. I felt a little guilty about the pretzel, but I figured the mound of veggies I ate would counteract it.

The Takeaway

So why am I telling you this seemingly pointless story? If you’re someone who is trying hard to keep your diet up, or keep finding reasons why it won’t work, just remember that it’s all about self control and determination. I just want to remind you that reaching your goal, whatever that may be, is worth it! So, don’t stop trying.

The reason why a lot of people fail at their diets is because they either have no self control when it comes to food, or they’re not determined enough. Because eating right is not easy. And the initial excitement of getting healthy and losing weight will fade, whether its after a day or a month. One day you’ll feel too tired to go to the gym or want to make that frozen pizza cause you’re too lazy to make a healthy dinner. It’ll happen. It happens to all of us. But don’t give in! Keep that determination and self control going. Remind yourself of how amazing you’ll feel and how much more energy you’ll have when you start taking care of your body. Keep your eye on the prize and maybe you won’t have to dread a Super bowl party (or any party) like I did.

It is possible to enjoy yourself while still being mindful of what you’re putting into your body. Once you start regularly giving it what it needs, I guarantee you’ll begin to notice and forget all about how sad you were when you made yourself eat a salad instead of pizza.

|If you enjoyed this piece, feel free to give a clap or 10. Thanks for reading! :)

--

--

Fit Yourself Club

Eat. Lift. Create. A writer in bloom with a passion for words, food, and fitness. And forever a work in progress.