Me focusing despite distractions (Moebius, 40 days dans le Désert B)

The Internet Is Distracting, so I Put up Blinders

paul christophe
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2016

--

I can’t focus. The internet is too tempting. I used to set goals of no Youtube or Facebook or Reddit for the entire day. That never lasted more than a few hours.

The thing is I want to be productive but my animal brain draws me away from my work. One slip up and I’ll tumble down a Wikipedia hole for 20 minutes before I know where I am.

So, I made blinders for my browser.

The extension (chrome) does a few things. First, it blocks me from distracting websites. Second, it sets a reasonable amount of time to focus like the pomodoro technique. Lastly, it serves up a todo list so I can break work into small chunks.

It’s not perfect. There are ways around it but that’s not the point. The goal is to give the smarter side of my brain enough time to notice when I’m about to distract myself.

If you use it and like it please drop me a comment!

OK, gotta go focus.

--

--