Writer’s Boot Camp Day 4

Assignment: Think of a time this past week when you could have written but instead “gave” that time away. How could you have handled it differently?

Jasmine Ruckey
Fit Yourself Club
2 min readJan 4, 2018

--

Time: 10 Minutes

Every day I have the option to write. Every day I have the chance to set myself in front of my laptop and go to town on a potential story idea I’ve been toying with for months or free-write about something I have on my mind that day. I love the feeling of losing my fingers to the keyboard, like I don’t even have to think about what I’m writing. They just tap away effortlessly. So why don’t I do this every day?

I’m great at coming up with excuses, and always come up: I have nothing to write about, I’m so busy, I have people over the house, I’m too tired. I’m pretty sure I’ve used all of these excuses within the past month alone. Why do I put off doing something that I enjoy so much? Perhaps because it’s one of those things that requires more than zoning out in front of a screen. It forces me to remain present. To think and put in effort.

Since starting this writer’s boot camp, I’ve already discovered new ways that would make all my excuses to not write seem moot. Too busy? Guess I gotta wake my ass up earlier. Having people over? I should time things out better and get my writing done before they arrive. Nothing to write about?? HA! That’s a good one. Clearly my golden excuse for when I’m feeling super lazy.

There really aren’t any good excuses as to why I can’t open my laptop and write every day, so I need to stop telling myself there is. If I want to get anywhere with my writing, I need to get serious. No more excuses!

--

--

Jasmine Ruckey
Fit Yourself Club

Eat. Lift. Create. A writer in bloom with a passion for words, food, and fitness. And forever a work in progress.