You have to start somewhere.

So these are the significant events from last year.

Andrew Brisbane
2 min readJan 24, 2016

I’ve never really written anything like this before so you may have to bear with me a little bit. I think it will be a shaky start. But you have to start somewhere.

Why do it at all? I’m doing it to help me clarify my thoughts and feelings and work out what I want to do next. Make a bit of a plan I suppose. And get something useful out of it I think. I hope it might be useful for other people on some level eventually too. Or maybe not.

I thought I’d start with the significant things that happened last year. There are two that stand out. One at the beginning one at the end.

In January I started a course at the YMCA to qualify as a personal trainer and in December my Mum died. I qualified. My Mum reached 93.

Less significant: I learnt how to swim underwater. And I managed to go to yoga once a week, sometimes twice. And I reached 63 years of age in the process.

So there’s a bit of a fitness thing going on and a realisation that we’re all going to die. I want to combine these themes in someway: to help me start working as a personal trainer with people who are coming up to retirement. Who want to live to 93 and perhaps a bit beyond.

I think that’s all I can manage on page one. I’ll press the publish button and take the plunge. I’ll be happier when I get to page five hundred. Actually you’d be better skipping the next few hundred: they’re bound to improve. There’s no substitute for practice.

--

--