Running after Only doing Yoga for a Long Time

Amelia Barker
fitandlife
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2017

One of the best feelings in the world is running on a summer morning. It’s exhilarating to work up that sweat and know that you’ve done something that is beneficial for your body, while at the same time enjoying yourself. However, during the winter months getting out for a run isn’t always possible. I usually end up in my warm studio doing Yoga. Not much to complain about I know. But once the warm weather returns then there can be problems with this routine.

I remember one year when I tried too hard to get back to the level of running I’d been at the year before. A hamstring injury was the result and I didn’t even get back into running for the rest of the year. If I had set a slower pace to build my muscles up then I wouldn’t have had so many problems. So, I’ve put together a list of useful advice that can get you back into running safely. First off, be sure to take it slow at the beginning. A good brisk walk is a good start and as you progress you can speed it up until you are able to jog. Once you reach that level keep at it for a while until your muscles are strong enough to begin running. If the weather looks like it could keep you indoors for a while using a treadmill is a good alternative.

Strength training is another good activity that can prepare your muscles for the running exercise routine you want to keep up with. Doing this sort of training 2 to 3 times a week is recommended.

Finally, be sure to drink plenty of water, watch your diet and give your body time to rest and recover. If you follow all of these steps then you will be running and in better shape in no time.

--

--