This Turmeric Infused Oil Will Make Your Meals Tastier and Healthier

Amelia Barker
fitandlife
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2017

I am a big turmeric fan- but who isn’t anyway? With all the benefits it has to offer such as its anti-inflammatory potency, you cannot fail to love it. I include turmeric in all my meals. I will toss some in my tea, include some in my afternoon snack and fry some with my veggies for dinner. While this works, I wanted to develop a technique of adding this mystic spice in everything I ate, without much effort. As I was eating dinner at my favorite Italian restaurant one evening when an idea struck my mind. As I dipped the tantalizing bread in garlic infused the oil, I realized that turmeric infused oil would be a great idea.

Turmeric can be quickly absorbed in fat when combined with ginger and black pepper, thus making the ingredients ideal for my concoction.I could not wait any longer, so I started working the moment I got home. Now that I needed the oil for cooking, I quickly disregarded olive oil since it has a low smoking point of 3500C, thus isn’t good for stir-frying.

Evidently, coconut oil is a gem regarding health benefits because it has antibacterial, anti-fungal and antiviral properties. It also has an extremely high smoke point among other oils thus is ideal for cooking. Since then, I have had a super easy time preparing this magic oil.

You can make a bottle of it and refrigerate it for a whole year. However, it lasts for only six months while on the counter. Now, you may utilize it on anything that requires flavor and health boost. For vegetables, I toss in the oil before adding the vegetables.

As for sweet potato mash, I prefer stirring in a little portion of the oil before serving. Those who like taking milk will love my golden milk recipe. To prepare the milk, blend your favorite type of milk with a teaspoon of the turmeric-infused oil and a little honey.

Turmeric-Infused Coconut Oil

Ingredients

  • 1½ cups coconut oil
  • 4 teaspoons ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon whole black peppercorns

Method

  1. In a heavy-bottom saucepan over low heat, gently heat ¼ cup of the coconut oil.
  2. Once it melts, add peppercorns, and cook for 3 to 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add turmeric and ginger and cook for 3 to 4 minutes, stirring occasionally. The spices should become quite fragrant. Add remaining coconut oil and cook for 20 minutes (you’re still on low heat here!).
  4. Remove from heat, let cool slightly (but not until hardened), then strain through a fine-mesh strainer — I just pour it back into the same jar the coconut oil originally came in. Keeps at room temperature for 6 months, or up to a year in the fridge. <<recipe from mindbodygreen.com>>

--

--