Let the training begin..

FitInfinite
FitInfinite
Published in
2 min readDec 20, 2016

So here we go… The problem with launching a health and fitness App - https://appsto.re/gb/w9ZN9.i (something I’m sure you’ve all been laughing about, wondering when I’d actually twig) is that one must be, well, healthy and fit. And I’m not! Not by a long shot. As my oldest friend’s wife told me, “if you’re launching a fitness App and you’re one of the faces behind it, shouldn’t you have a six pack?”. I just wish she hadn’t looked quite so pointedly at my dad-bod while saying it.

So, its with much trepidation that I’ve signed up for the Brighton Marathon on the 9th of April 2017. While I’m pretty happy that my mad travel for 2016 has ended and I’ll be able to get back to my Crossfit classes at the amazing Blitz Crossfit in Twickenham, the sad truth is that my belly fat only responds to running. And I absolutely hate it! Aaaargh!! Anyhoo, the training plan has been downloaded and Monday 20th Jan was Day 1. Not too bad a start — a brisk (but not fast) 5 km run in Richmond Park.

Now I’m in pain. There’s got to be a reason why my ancestors survived. I’ve got these plodding genes from somewhere and frankly, the fact that I’m here means that my great, great, great, great…… etc. grandfather clearly ran faster than the guys who got eaten by the sabre tooth. So why is it that I just cannot replicate the old ancestral feat? eh? eh?

Tomorrow is apparently something known as a fartlek, which involves a series of sprints. It all sounds pretty painful and I’ll try to take a few pictures. Maybe I should get one of those funky Go Pros. All my wheezing is bound to add comedy value to these posts.

--

--

FitInfinite
FitInfinite

At FITINFINITE we’re trying to break down the barriers to fitness, exercise and health for everyday, ordinary folk (like us!).