How I stay in shape. (Memoir)

Claire Thomas
Fitness Blogs By: Claire Thomas
2 min readNov 14, 2018

I am only 15 years old and sometimes it is difficult to work out all the time with school. This is why I try to stay in sports all year round. I am a cheerleader for my high school and this mostly takes care of my physical activity. I usually cheer 2 games a week and we have cheer practices 4 times a week. I have cheered for 11 years now and I love it! I know some people do not count it as a sport which doesn’t personally hurt my feelings, but it is a great way to stay in shape. My cheer class is 7th hour and during class we will warm up by running a couple laps, then we stretch, and work on our routine. It is a fun way to stay in shape during the school year!

During the spring I do track. I have never loved the idea of running but I don’t mind sprinting for a couple yards. I actually do the field side of track and pole vault. I started pole vaulting last year in February and it is a super weird sport. You run with a pole and try to get over a bar. It sounds like only crazy people would do it and you’re probably right. I knew pole vaulting was going to be a challenge, but I didn’t understand how much goes into it. It is the kind of sport where you fail more than you succeed but I think that is why I love it so much. The feeling after you make it over the bar is one of the best feelings. I am so glad I did pole vaulting last year and I can’t wait to do it again this year!

Profession athlete: Allison Stokke

--

--