Polar M600 GPS watch review

Janice Smith
Fitness Cheerleader
3 min readOct 5, 2016

Originally published at salads4lunch.com on September 28, 2016.

Disclosure: This Polar M600 GPS Watch Review is sponsored by Polar Global through my partnership with Blog Meets Brand. As always, all opinions are my own.

Two weeks ago I was sent the Polar M600 GPS Watch, the newest Smart watch/Activity tracker/GPS watch from Polar to review. To say that I instantly fell in love with it is putting it mildly. I have tried many other fitness trackers, heart rate monitors and GPS watches before but have found that all of them did one thing well, but was missing the other pieces of the puzzle that would make it my go to all-in-one device.

I must confess, I’m a picky consumer.

I’m a runner, a triathlete, and a mom trying to maintain my weight and live the healthiest life possible.

My preferred smart watch not only needs to be able to connect to my device, but it also needs to track ALL of my activities at ALL times. It needs to be part smart watch, GPS watch, heart rate monitor, activity tracker, sleep tracker, calorie counter etc. It also needs to be waterproof for swimming, cycling and life in general.

Oh and it needs to look cute with my work clothes too.

So was Polar able to meet my shopping list of needs? Yes, yes, yes, and yes! It’s almost like they actually took the time to talk to the people who use activity trackers and GPS watches to find out what they REALLY want.

Key features:

  • Integrated GPS to track speed, distance and route
  • 24/7 activity and sleep tracking monitoring steps, distance, sleep time, quality and calories burned
  • Wrist-based heart rate technology
  • Customizable sport-specific profiles giving you guidance and specific data to train effectively
  • Connects with Polar Flow app for detailed information about each training session, as well as sleep and activity data
  • Waterproof, the M600 is suitable for swimming up to 10 meters
  • Exclusive smart coaching features
  • Operating system: Android Wear™ with 4GB memory internal storage + 512MB RAM
  • Battery life: 2 days/ 8 hours of training (with Android)/ 1 day, 8 hours of training (with iPhone)
  • 6 LED Optical heart rate sensors, accelerometer, ambient light sensor, gyroscope, vibration motor, microphone
  • Bluetooth 4.2 Wi-Fi connectivity
  • Receive text, email, calendar and phone alerts

So how did the watch live up to my wear testing?

Setting it up was a breeze… sort of. I followed the setup instructions on the Polar website which includes downloading the Android Wear app to my phone, entered in my stats on the watch and I was out and running 20 min later. Admittedly it took me 5 min to clue in to the fact that detailed set up instructions were on Polar’s website. There’s a small info sheet in the box and my husband had a good laugh watching my confused face as I kept shaking and looking into the box for more instructions.

The Polar M600 GPS Watch connected to GPS very quickly compared to other watches I’ve tested — it even was able to connect to GPS from within my house! Being able to connect to GPS is a MUST for a GPS watch in my eyes, but I don’t have much patience for the connecting part. I usually stand and do some dynamic stretching (leg swings) while waiting for the connection and once it connects I want to take off on my run. Being able to connect to GPS in the house while I’m still lacing up my shoes is a bonus! As a mom with a family every minute spent waiting for my watch to connect is another minute lost from my run. Thankfully the Polar M600 connects fast so that I don’t lose any precious running time.

Continue Reading on salads4lunch.com

--

--

Janice Smith
Fitness Cheerleader

Working mom-3 girls, triathlete & softball coach. Owner of http://womenstrigear.com. @fitfluential & @goodlifefitness ambassador