Absolutely Outgunning My Opponents in Call of Duty

Hi, my name is Reza and over the course of the week, I tracked myself playing the video game Call of Duty. Every day from September 3rd to September 7th I played 10 games of multiplayer each day, I kept track of these key stats while playing. They were: the most used weapons each day ranked from 1st-3rd, the amount of kills achieved with each one of those weapons, and the average Kill/Death Ratio I achieved each day after playing those 10 games., Using a combination of graphic design websites/software and digital drawing apps on my iPad I illustrated data infographics with my creative twist.

During my process of gathering data (which was quite enjoyable), I used different sources to gather and track my data. I mainly used my Call of Duty statistics tracker that is within that game to get an in-depth analysis of my performance in each game. It provides you with stats from your overall lifetime or the last 10 games you played. I also used my notes app to keep track of the amount of kills and deaths I got.

I have been playing Call of Duty since I was 11 years old, Not even meeting the age requirement of 18+ the passion I have for that game is indescribable. A Quick Summary for people who don’t know what this game is. Call of Duty is a renowned video game franchise centered around intense first-person shooter (FPS) gameplay. It offers a diverse range of settings, from historical wars to futuristic scenarios, where players assume the roles of soldiers or operatives. Call of Duty’s multiplayer online mode is known for its fast-paced action, tactical gameplay, and the opportunity to engage in exciting battles with players from around the world where players assume the roles of soldiers or operatives. I have also provided some video clips of my personal gameplay during this project below.

Before we process into the infographic I provided Career stats (only from Sep 3rd to Sep 7th) to show an overview of my performance. Its context shows: the time played, average kills per game, matches played, average kill/death ratio, average win/ lost games, personal best kill streak, and highest kill game.

Now it is time for the infographics. The first one, is a representation of the most used weapons each day ranked from 1st-3rd, the amount of kills achieved with each one of those weapons. I provided a legend below to make it easier to understand this infographic.

Coming in first place is the Vaznek 9k, as you can see it was my favorite weapon used, with 621 kills. Over half of the overall kills got. Its amazing mobility and firing rate assisted me to be able to get into flow state to dominate my opponent. In second place was the Lachmann sub with 332 kills. This weapon particularly has the best mobility with its strength being close-range gun fights, very useful for small maps. Lastly coming in third place is the Chimera with 248 kills. This weapon in particular is a hybrid assault rifle with an insanely fast firing rate, which was very enjoyable to use, but its downsize was the range; the reason it’s in third. Overall these weapons adapted to my play style flawlessly. My playstyle is aggressive rushing,(never standing in one place always on the move) so these guns have meshed well with their high mobility factors.

Here are the attachments for each gun I used, I mainly focused on equipping on better mobility and aim down-sight speed attachments to benefit my run and gun play style.

This next infographic represents the average kill/ death ratio I achieved each day. Drawing this line graph helped me see my progression over time. Day 1: 1.06, Day 2: 1.14, Day 3 1.30, Day 4: 1.61, Day 5: 1.50. Those were my average kill/death ratio achieved each day. As you see from Day 1 to Day 4 has grown exponentially inconsistently. Over this period of time, you see myself on Day 1, shaking off the rust since I haven’t played Call of Duty and a few months. And those days on forward, a constant growth with my highest day being Day 4 at its peak high. Day 4 I was back in my groove and constantly was dominating my opponents in my flow state. Sadly on Day 5, I dropped 0.11 points from Day 4 slightly losing that fiery mode I was in earlier in the week.

Overall, from my data, I have seen that the more I consistently play the better I have played and the increase of awareness is higher as well as my gun skill. I’ve also realized that I tend to go towards a certain type of gun that is able to keep up with my play style. Tracking my data was actually more fun than I expected not because of the video game aspect and playing but the whole entire creation of making these data infographics.

--

--