Homelessness Crisis in Florida

Florida has one of the highest homelessness rates in the nation With over 22,000 Florida residents facing homelessness. Which is why I decided for my map to show the rate of homelessness in Florida. In my data it shows the homelessness rate in Florida by county for 2021.

The trends I can see within my map is that the more south of Florida you go, The higher the homelessness rate gets because the higher the average population is in those areas. Some of the areas in Florida with the least homelessness rates are areas like Jackson, Putnam County with only 106 reported and liberty which for my data says it has zero reported. That’s gonna be taken with a grain of salt but for my data that’s what it has recorded.

However areas such as Palm Beach Broward and Miami Dade have a much higher rate of homeless people in their area. Miami Dade has the highest homelessness rate within the entire day of Florida with a whopping 3224 residents reporting to be homeless. Broward also has a high level of homelessness with 2561 people reporting to be homeless in their area

I feel like these trends show that the more heavily populated areas, especially city like areas, are shown to have more homelessness compared to the more northern cities.

--

--