Should I Cancel Netflix? — My Media Consumption Tracking Says Yes…

For the last couple of days, I tracked my media consumption. I realized that I pay for many different services (Netflix, Spotify, Prime Video, Hulu, ESPN +, and Peacock), and I barely use some of them. So, it would be interesting to track how much I use all those platforms. That way, I can find out their value to me, and I can decide which one I should keep and which I should cancel.

To keep track of my consumption, I created a note on my phone to write down any updates. I found an interesting constant; I use Spotify every time I drive. When I am commuting to work, I like to listen to podcasts. When I am driving to class, I put on some music. This was the media that was constant with one activity. I also put music at work, so Spotify was, by large, the most used platform. Therefore, Spotify was the most valuable service. I calculated the value by dividing the minutes used by the price paid. Using the same formula, the least valuable platform was Peacock. I did not use it at all while tracking my media use. Anyhow, Peacock is just $4.99, and I am subscribed to watch the Premier League. There was no match to watch during the days of my tracking, so although the visualization shows that Peacock has no value at all for me, it is worth noting that I find it valuable. Plus, there is a Show that I am considering watching on Peacock: Poker Face, from the creator of Knives Out and Glass Onion.

The most concerning finding were the second least valuable platform: Netflix. Unlike Peacock, I feel that the data visualized for the value that Netflix has to me is very accurate. The last show that I remember watching on Netflix was Stranger Things back in June. If there is one subscription I should consider canceling, it is Netflix. I use ESPN+ to watch LaLiga matches and Hulu to watch less dense shows, like Regular Show, which I watch during my break at work to relax. Amazon Prime seems to have a low value to me, but I am enjoying watching The Boys, the show I am currently watching. Tracking this data, I realized that I am the kind of person who only watches one show at a time, that I use Spotify a lot, and that I should probably cancel Netflix.

Data visualization of media consumption through the days and during which activities
Data visualization of price VS value of media platforms

--

--