Top Artists and Genres I Listen To

The way that I tracked my progress with how much music I was listening to was through this website called Spotify stats. All you have to do is link your account and it will tell you your top artists for the last four weeks, the last 6 months and the last year. However, for this assignment, we were supposed to track within the span of seven days anything about ourselves. The website actually tells you all the tracks that you listened to and on which date and what time you listened to them. That made my tracking a little bit more difficult but it still doesn’t mean that it didn’t allow me to easily track my 5 favorite artists. From this, I can also deduct what are the eight genres that I listened to the most as well. I think one of the other challenges that I faced while I was tracking myself was not putting music on just because I wanted my results to come out a certain way. A lot of the artists that I listened to were artists that I’ve listened to a lot of times and artists that I was discovering for the first time. When coming up with what I should do to represent the data that I get, I found it super fun to encode by color, that’s my favorite way of doing it because it leads to more expressional forms of art.

I think the one thing that I discovered about myself through this project is that it doesn’t necessarily matter what day of the week it is, I will listen to just about any genre at a given time. I didn’t know how much I truly liked Bad Bunny until this week. This is what has made this project so much fun for me because it truly allows me to see what kind of music has the most impact on me on a daily basis. Whether it be sad music or party music, I jump from a lot of genres. That was also one of the difficult aspects of the project, the winners were not clear cut at all, it could’ve gone to a lot of other artists if I just listened to them a little more, but it’s still cool to see which ones made it on top. It’s crazy because two of the artists that are listed are artists that I’ve just recently started liking and they’re already at the top of my charts.

--

--