Which Method of Birth Control is Right for You?

By: Gabriela Gutierrez-Gallo

An example of a few different methods of birth control (photo from Unsplash)

Women all over the world have been taking birth control for over 60 years. There have been many advances along the way, so many that it can be difficult to choose which method is right for them.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, a study conducted from 2015–2017 states that “64.9% of the 72.2 million women aged 15–49 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

A visual representation of how each method is consumed/inserted. (Visualization by Gabriela Gutierrez-Gallo)

The most common methods of birth control include The copper IUD, Progestin IUD, Depo-Provera, the pill, and the vaginal ring.

The most common method of birth control is the pill. It needs to be taken orally once a day. It is the most common because it is non-committal, meaning the patient can stop taking the pills at any time, and it lasts as long as the patient takes it every day.

Most gynecologists recommend fist timers to try out the pill first before inserting any long-term contraceptives. It is also mostly used by teens and young adults.

Amanda O’Higgins, 22, a senior nursing student at Florida International University has been taking birth control pills since she was 15 years old.

“I’m taking taytulla which is a form of oral contraceptive. I have been on this specific brand of birth control for a year and a half but I have been on other brands of birth control since I was 16,” she said. “The pill regulates my period and relieves my cramps which is something I struggled with since the start of puberty.”

The pill is a very convenient form of birth control, but it’s not for everyone. Some women find it difficult to remember to take the pill every day and end up missing days, which can be risky.

Kristina Rodriguez, 21, has had an IUD inserted for three years and had unsuccessfully tried birth control pills before committing to a more long-term method.

“The birth control that I have is the Kyleena IUD. I have had it for about 3 years now. Kyleena is a hormonal IUD that has to be inserted and lasts about 5 years before either replacing it or taking it out. A hormonal IUD just means that it holds hormones to further prevent pregnancy and reduce cramping pain,” she said.

Rodriguez had trouble remembering to take her pill every night and the side effects became too much for her to deal with on a daily basis so she and her gynecologist discussed other options for her.

“I first began with regular birth control pills, but soon found out it wasn’t for me. I was gaining weight, and it caused me to be very inconsistent and forgetful of my birth control schedule. I then got my Kyleena inserted, and it was the best decision I’ve ever made,” she said. “I love my IUD mostly because it requires no effort on my end. I forget all the time that I even have a form of birth control. It just stays there once inserted and I don’t ever have to worry about it,” she said.

Click here to view this published pie chart

Most women use birth control pills to regulate their periods and shorten their cycles.

According to Lonna P. Gordon MD, “birth control works because it decreases the amount of prostaglandins — chemicals your body produces to make the muscles of the uterus contract. With fewer contractions, there is less pain. Birth control pills also can decrease the amount of blood flow with a girl’s period.”

The IUD shortens cycles but is not responsible for relieving cramps. Depending on your specific cycle experience, the IUD and pill give different results.

According to a recent study conducted by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, “Approximately 35% of women aged 15–49 were not currently using contraception.” This is most likely due to the expensive prices on each method of birth control, and it also depends on the insurance of the patient in question.

All methods of birth control are notoriously expensive, especially without health insurance. The US Census Bureau states that “a total of 27.5 million Americans had no health insurance during 2018.”

The pricing of birth control has been a well-known issue for many years. Gynecologists will often purposely prescribe their patients the most expensive brand of birth control.

Click here to view this published chart

Karelis Sanchez, 26, a nurse at Miami Baptist Hospital, uses a vaginal ring as her method of birth control.

“I use a vaginal ring because I’ve tried the IUD and the pills and I realized that I prefer having more control with my contraceptives,” she said. “I like inserting it myself and seeing what is going into my body because it makes me calmer and safer.”

Every method has its perks, and every woman is different.

Choose wisely.

https://policyadvice.net/insurance/insights/how-many-uninsured-americans/

https://kidshealth.org/en/teens/cramps.html

https://www.plannedparenthood.org/learn/teens/ask-experts/can-birth-control-help-with-period-cramps

https://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/contraception/index.htm

--

--