You’ll never work a day in your life doing something you love

I decided to track my time in the gym and how much effort I put in based on whether I go with company or ride solo. Exercise is as important of a life skill as cooking and cleaning are. No, they are not similar in terms of survival needs however exercise is an activity that will make your lifestyle healthier overall. One of the biggest hurdles that people face when deciding to partake in physical activity is the anxiety of doing said activity with little knowledge and with the perceived judgment from others around you. When I started seriously I would go alone but I quickly learned that it becomes even more enjoyable when you go with a partner.

While collecting data I learned something very alarming. On the days I go with a partner I end up burning more calories however the time frame is similar and the level of effort in the gym is not too far off from the “controlled” in this which would be me going to the gym alone. Cardio activity was not tracked in this data. After all, my preferred version of cardio is cycling which has some barrier of entry because my friends nearby do not own bicycles. There was one instance where there was a huge discrepancy in time compared to the rest of the data which was the day I had to leave early due to going to work. The days where the time is disproportionately longer or the level of activity is not as high is due to another factor of having an extra partner introduced into the gym session. On two separate occasions. I had a third person accompany us and I will admit my level of enjoyment increased on those days even though the activity level was lower.

Many factors must be taken into account when deciding to lead a healthier lifestyle, from intensity to quality of the sessions but the most important factor is longevity. How long can a person adopt these habits and how consistently they can stick to them? The element of enjoying these types of activity comes from within however, having a friend or partner present makes it so there’s a higher chance of you sticking to any program to choose. Like the age-old saying likes to posit, “You’ll never work a day in your life if you do something you love”. Health And Fitness give you the benefits of feeling good but participating with a loved one will undoubtedly make you love it.

--

--