Welcome to 5 Merrion Row

So what does it all mean?

5 Merrion Row
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2017

--

Sometimes, I have to remind myself that the company I co-founded is also a business.

Let me explain…

Although I believe that MyWallSt is entirely unique to anything that has come before, we have pretty much the same responsibilities that every other business has. Revenue, customer acquisition, PR, the odd internet outage, whose turn it is to take the bins out… these are just the typical components of a modern business.

But why doesn’t MyWallSt feel like just another business?

Recently, during one of our regular stand-up sessions, my friend and co-founder John Tyrrell casually said something that really resonated with me:

“Wouldn’t it be great if customers could experience Rubicoin like we do?”

Well, wouldn’t it?

I spent the early part of my career working for one of the world’s largest telecommunications companies. Although I enjoyed my job and made countless friends amongst colleagues (including John), it always felt very much like I was working for a business.

I mean, I was working for a business. But it really felt like it too.

John and I have a vision for MyWallSt that has never changed since day one. We want to create billions of successful stock investors across the world with our apps. It’s that simple.

Behind the screens (geddit?) though, we also want to create a company and a work environment different to anything either of us have experienced before.

We’re a young company under no illusion that there is anything but a long road ahead of us. But that road excites me. Over the past three and a bit years, I have come to understand that what goes on behind the door here at 5 Merrion Row in the heart of Dublin City is something really special.

That is precisely why we’ve named our new publication after the address of our office—‘5 Merrion Row’.

This is our attempt at communicating to the wider world what exactly it is that makes working at MyWallSt unique. The people that work here and the unique culture we’ve built are the only things that rival the importance we’ve put on our product and we want to share them with the world.

With ‘5 Merrion Row’, we’ll bring the individual voices of those working here together. The topics will include ones as diverse as start-ups, design, investing, office events and personal stories.

But one thing that they will all have in common is that they are uniquely MyWallSt.

If you liked what you read, please leave a 👏

Emmet is the CEO and co-founder of MyWallSt, a company that teaches you how to become a better investor.

Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on our blog

--

--