“If I never again have to read a bunch of entitled tech bros mansplaining on twitter about their way of working is the only way, I will die a happy man.”

Hunter Walk
Five Questions
Published in
8 min readJun 26, 2023

--

Canadian Investor Chris Neumann on Venture Vibes, Who Helped Him Along the Way, and the Qualities of a Founder Who Could Fail But He’d Back Again

I’m always a fan of investors who write consistently, while blending personal experience and utility, versus just content marketing. Chris Neumann (of Canada’s Panache Ventures) checks these boxes so I asked him to come on my blog (currently less consistent, hopefully still the other two) for Five Questions.

Hunter Walk: So why venture capital, why early stage, and why Canada?

Chris Neumann: I’ve been lucky to have been a part of 5 startups going back to the late-90s, including two that were VC-backed (DataHero and Aster Data). After DataHero was acquired, I felt like it was time to try something new. 500 Startups was looking to add someone with an enterprise background to their investing team, so I made the leap into venture at the start of 2017.

At 500, I had the opportunity to work with early-stage founders from around the world and quickly realized that this was where I…

--

--

Hunter Walk
Five Questions

You’ll find me @homebrew , Seed Stage Venture Fund w @satyap . Previously made products at YouTube, Google & SecondLife. Married to @cbarlerin .