Foreign Language

¿Hablas español? Fix this story!

Let’s improve each other’s writing skills.

Esther
Fix My Story
Published in
5 min readSep 22, 2023

--

A written document with comments in various languages.
Image by author.

At the bottom of this page is a story I wrote in Spanish without consulting a dictionary, spell checker, or any language source. If you’re a Spanish-speaking grammar nerd and can’t wait to clean up the text, jump down and have at it — tell me what I’m doing wrong! But be warned: I’m only an intermediate learner and tend to make a mess of diâcrítičal marks.

If you’re wondering why I’m sharing my mistake-ridden writing, and think you might like to do the same, read on.

In March 2020 I was studying in Lyon, France, and riding a high in my journey toward French fluency. But when COV** escalated, I fled, at the request of my concerned parents, to their home in suburban New York. Improving my French outside France quickly proved a colossal challenge. I struggled to even maintain the level I had, and, as each day passed in lockdown, I felt newly acquired vocabulary slip out of my mind. I’m pretty sure I heard my synapses let out a dejected “oh la la” with each lost word.

I felt weak. I thought, if I’m going to atrophy in one language, I may as well bulk up in another. I should pivot to an area where I can really improve. And it’s easier to make progress when you’re starting from zero, advancing from A1 to B1 instead of from C1 to C2.

So, I got familiar with a certain green owl and got comfortable with basic Spanish.

But three years on, my approach remains pretty passive: I mindlessly tune into podcasts on long evening walks, and I play Duolingo in the wee hours, convincing myself this is a healthy alternative to TikTok doom-scrolling.

I’ve decided to turn up the heat on my Spanish education. Besides, I’m not returning to France anytime soon, and where I live (NYC) Spanish is widely spoken. So far my bold new strategy includes:

  • Attending a local language exchange (to date, I went once and had the same conversation with five different people. They’re all de acuerdo that New Yorkers work too much).
  • Reading a novel (muy slowly, with wordreference.com in hand).

The problem is that these activities only cover speaking, listening and reading. The trouble is that I never write.

I have no writing outlet! And even if I kept a diary in Spanish (who am I kidding? I don’t even keep a diary in English), how would I ensure the writing makes sense? I could end up ingraining incorrect grammar and spelling through repeated, unflagged mistakes.

So, here’s my proposition: let’s collaborate to improve each other’s foreign language writing skills.

Here’s how.

  1. Write a story (of any genre, length, and format) in a language you’re learning.

Tip: Don’t seek outside help. Pretend you’re in a classroom and drafting to the best of your ability. Try using complex sentence structures you’re not yet comfortable with. Make mistakes!

2. Note the target language in the subtitle (e.g. “Target Language: Arabic”).

3. Include relevant topics and SEO keywords for visibility (foreign language, grammar, spelling, editing, Spanish, English, Korean, etc.).

4. Publish the story in my new publication Fix My Story.

5. Go proofread your fellow language learners’ stories! Comment on any word or phrase that looks wonky with the correction you see fit. For extra points, explain the logic behind the change.

Tip: Be kind and encouraging! And feel free to engage with the content as well as the language, as you would on any Medium story.

Alright, I’ll go first. Here’s a little attempt at writing en español.

Los hostales — lo bueno y lo malo

Bunk beds in a hostel.
Photo by Nicate Lee on Unsplash

Cuando yo viajo, siempre busco las maneras más barratas que possible para hacerlo. Esto incluye las lugares donde duermo. Así que a menudo me quedo en hostales — lugares poco caros para los jovenes que no tienen mucho dinero. Pero es cada vez una experiencia nueva. No sabes que vas a encontrar en un hostal.

Cuando yo era una estudiante en la universidad en Francia, yo tenía dos semanas libres entre las examenes y el segundo semestre. Yo decidí de ir a dos ciudades cercanas durante este tiempo para conocer a más países de Europa. Fui a Prague y Vienna. Y en ambas ciudades, dormé en un hostal.

Prague es concocida como una ciudad bien barrata. Se puede comprar mucho con poco dinero. Creo que pagué algo de veinticinco euros para pasar dos noches en una habitación de mujeres con seis camas separadas.

Pero al llegar, descubrí que no había ninguna otra persona quedandose en esta habitación. Incluso cuando volvé esa noche, después de pasar un momento en el centro, yo estuve sola en esta habitación bonita, limpia y soleada. Yo habría pagado mucho más para una habitación que no era compartida.

La situación fue peor en Vienna. Llegué por la noche y vi rápidamente que había mucha gente dentro. La habitación era mucho más pequeña, con dos camas — del tipo con una cama bajo de otra cama (¿cómo se llama eso?). Además, la sala fue oscuro y hacía frío.

Yo dormía en el parte de arriba, pero la verdad es que dormí muy poco. Había a una chica abajo que estaba visiblemente enferma. La pobre hizo mucho ruido todo la noche, movando la cama con sus toses, y yo no pude dormir ni unos minutos. Escuché la musica para al menos descansarme. Fue claro que las otras personas en la habitación no pudieron dormir tampoco.

No me recuerdo cuanto costó el hostal en Vienna, pero sé que despensé mucho más que veinticinco euros. Después de este viaje, yo estaba seguro de que un precio alto o bajo no significa una experiencia buena o mala.

--

--