Why I am crazy about things on different scales.

Camila Quilez
FXRS
3 min readJun 4, 2022

--

I still remember the first time I watched the movie “Honey, I shrunk the kids” (1989). The movie was about a father doing scientific experiments, when he accidentally shrink his kids into the size of an ant.

Years later I went to Universal Studios, Florida, and to my big surprise, there was a “game” of this movie (I think they had released the sequal at that time) where you could experience how it felt to be tiny. It was a park with really BIG grass, flowers, and ants on a GIANT scale. I was about 10 years old, I was hallucinating.

Toys are usually replicas of big objects, I started collecting some tiny things that have their identic big version. (I still do).

I’ve never analyzed why this osessed me that much.

Until I went with my little daughter to a museum in Buenos Aires, to see Ron Mueck’s Art sample.

Do you know Ron Mueck?

He is an Australian sculptor that makes hyper-realistic sculptures. I got obsessed with his art as well.

He is amazing, the grade of details and expressions are incredible. Trough his sculptures, you experience a lot of emotions, you can feel loneliness, love, fatigue, and many natural feelings.

At that time, being almost 28 years old, I come to realize what has awoken this obsession that facinates me is the understanding that our surroundings may always change, we can be (or feel) huge, and in a minute turn tiny. Sometimes is all about perception. That’s why I feel this so real, and amazing. Because is boring to think that things can’t change, or be in a unique way or dimension.

To end this crazy article, this is a photo that I took in a trip to Portugal where I saw a mailbox that was a replica of the original house. Mind blowing to me.

Some accounts that I follow:

Ig: @cheng.hank Web: hanktown.easy.co/

Ig: @ronmueckart

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ron_Mueck

--

--

Camila Quilez
FXRS
Writer for

Community Manager, love Nfts, crypto, and weird human behavior. Enthusiastic with crazy data and all that stuff. 👀