How and Where I Learned Design?

Akash Solanki
Fizday Design Paper
2 min readOct 29, 2021

You don’t need to spend boatloads of money on a degree.

I wanted to highlight the fact that I did not have any degree or background in UX design.

When I was studying in college, I started off studying Electronics Engineering and then completed my intern as a Web Designer.

After I realised I wasn’t completely passionate about what I wanted to do and I always knew deep down that I wanted to do something related to creative and learning startups.

I found out about UI/UX design from the internet.

When I heard about it, I was like, “this is the job for me, and it is creative and related to startups.”

I joined communities, started following designers on Linkedin and developing relationships with them.

I was watching other designers creating great UX projects on Behance and UI designs on Dribbble.

I found many online courses, articles, books, and videos, and this was perfect for me because I was still able to complete my college while studying design.

On the other hand, a few courses were extremely beneficial to me because they allowed me to learn all the basic principles of UI/UX design.

For the longest time, I just felt lost!

I want to let you know the fact that you don’t need to have a UX degree or get UX certified to do that as your job.

I reached out to different designers before I applied for jobs and that was super helpful.

Networking and sharing knowledge with fellow designers is always super helpful for me because it helps me kind of get a better understanding of the real-world UX designer roles.

Finally, if you ask me

You don’t need to spend boatloads of money on a degree.

How much money did I have to spend to become a designer?

Answer: $0 + high-speed internet.

Yes, everything is for free on the internet.

And I do spend most of my after-office hours learning about design and growth.

Learning every day keep you updated.

😍 So, there we go. Thanks for reading.

😉 Happy Designing (:

🍻 Cheers! — Akash

So, there we go. Thanks for reading.

From the last email:

  • What you’ve tried?
  • How did it work?

You can reply to my email or Linkedin.

If you enjoyed it, I’d really appreciate it if you could take a second and tell a designer friend. Honestly. It makes such a big difference.

--

--

Akash Solanki
Fizday Design Paper

Creator of Fizday | UX & Product Designer | Web Designer | Helping Designers to frame innovational design & ideas 💡