Do you like looking at pictures?

Andy Adams
FlakPhoto Projects
Published in
2 min readSep 1, 2023

Some thoughts from FlakPhoto HQ

Andy here. Greetings from FlakPhoto HQ!

Hey everybody! It’s been a while since I’ve written anything here — Apologies for the radio silence. Are folks still hanging out on Medium? I write about photography on my blog and hope you’ll subscribe to my posts over there. You can read my full archive over at FlakPhoto.news. It’s free! ***SUBSCRIBE HERE***

To begin with, I’m Andy.

I have been fascinated with pictures all my life. It started with comic strips and storybooks. My mother was a prolific amateur photographer, and her family photo albums were legendary. Like every kid in the 1980s, television and movies captivated my attention. Eventually, I found painting and photography, and I never looked back. I’ve been studying visual media for most of my life. I’m fascinated with imagemaking and deeply inspired by the people who practice it.

Years ago, I published a blog called FlakPhoto. That was before Instagram devoured the scene and ate my blogging habit. I love social media, but lately, I’ve been feeling the urge to log off and get back to basics. So, I’m writing a newsletter to share community news, recommend books, show pictures, and talk with the artists I admire. I hope you like it.

So, how will this work?

Good question. FlakPhoto Digest is a mix of photography news, online ephemera, and recommended reading. I play with short-form posts and publish longer stuff, too. I’ll share the highlights here on Medium, but you’ll get the full experience if you subscribe on my website. Finally, I’m open to your ideas and suggestions as things take shape. If there’s something you’d like to see here, let me know!

Cartoon by Anjali Chandrashekar

Sometimes a cartoon says it all — I’ve been working through some ideas about photography and experience, and Anjali Chandrashekar’s latest helped connect some dots. You can read more about seeing (and being) here.

Sincere thanks to each of you for being a part of this. I hope you enjoy your Labor Day holiday. Have a great weekend!

--

--

Andy Adams
FlakPhoto Projects

I’m a curator and writer in Madison, Wisconsin, USA. Among other things, I run FlakPhoto Projects, a community hub focused on conversations about photography.