Pressure

Dave Cornford
Flash Fiction Challenge
1 min readFeb 10, 2015

Flash Fiction Challenge #9 is inspired by these three words: husk, ironing board, roof tile.

Dark.

I roll over expecting to wrap an arm around Cheryl. There is something hard and rectangular in the bed instead. Like a roof tile.

I turn on the bedside light and I let my eyes open gradually. I lean up on my elbow.

There are three of them on the bed, red and grimy. I flick my eyes up to the ceiling. There is a hole in it.
In the hallway, I kick my toe on the ironing board. What’s it doing there?

“Cheryl!”

From outside, I can see a large object protruding from the roof. It’s like a huge seed pod, covered in overlapping layers of husk. It looks like it’s fallen into the roof from a height.

The silent pre-dawn brightens a little. The pod is moving, writhing, like there’s something in it.

Growing.

All I can hear is the roof straining with the pressure.

“Cheryl!?”

Grab you free book from author Dave Cornford here.

The next story is inspired by: light bulb, diamond ring, tattoo

--

--

Dave Cornford
Flash Fiction Challenge

Writer, thinker, strategist, researcher, BBQ tong-meister. Asks really good questions.