OSCARS

Barbie is Out of the Box-Review

Empty-headed doll Barbie rises to the challenge — no spoilers here

Aslynn Roe 🐈
Flicks TV Hound
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2023

--

Photo by ©Warner Bros. Pictures

I didn’t get the hoopla over Barbie and couldn’t figure out why any woman would want to go see a movie about a stereotypical beautiful doll. I was not buying into spending my money contributing to the empty-headed doll stereotype women have been fighting forever.

Given the political and social issues our country is dealing with right now, how could Warner Brothers put out a movie to further demean and discount women?

I also felt I had been inundated with Barbie advertising in every aspect of culture and life for the past several weeks to further cement my disinterest in the film. I didn’t watch the ads or trailers.

A friend asked me if I wanted to see it today. Before I could say, “Hell no. I don’t want to spend two hours of my life on a toy commercial,” I decided to do a tad bit of research. I read Kris Downey’s delightful flashback story:

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈
Flicks TV Hound

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!