STAR TREK ANNIVERSARY

Calling All Trekkies

Star Trek Strange New Worlds has some explaining to do

Aslynn Roe 🐈
Flicks TV Hound
Published in
5 min readOct 25, 2023

--

Star Trek Strange New Worlds crew photo
Photo credit Paramountfl+ TV

Star Trek Strange New Worlds has a warp in its timeline and I hope you can help me.

Fellow Trekkies know the Star Trek storylines in great detail, so I am hoping you can help with this one. I know you are passionate about the facts in the matter, and this timeline problem has me confused.

Just like the theatrical movies, the creators of this new series will take liberties with the character’s backstories. Trekkies can accept small changes. We get it, the show was over 57 years ago.

For example, I understand how Spock can be on the ship with Captain Pike and serve with him several years, because Vulcans live very long lives. In the original Star Trek, we learn a great deal about Spock's time with Captain Pike.

This series is based on Captain Pike with his “Number One” female commander seen in the pilot episode “The Cage.” This new series is a prequel, so whatever happens in this series is before the 2009 J. J. Abrams theatrical release. It also happens before the original series. James T. Kirk hasn’t been born yet.

J. J. Abrams took liberties with the characters, introducing what is known as the Kelvin timeline. So the original…

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈
Flicks TV Hound

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!