THIS DAY IN HISTORY

Starry-eyed Sisters Spaced Out For Star Trek

Star Trek debuts in 1966

Aslynn Roe šŸˆ
Flicks TV Hound
Published in
3 min readSep 14, 2023

--

Captain Kirk-Photo credit Paramount Pictures

It was a ritual in my house. Everyone one would be silenced. Popcorn would be popped and our seats assigned. It was time. And it began, ā€œSpace, the final frontierā€¦these are the voyages of the star ship Enterpriseā€¦ā€

I was 5 years old and I remember the cool stars with the ship swishing by, the blinking bridge lights, the fabulous colors of the costumes, and the songā€¦Star Trek was in our house.

Captain Kirk and Spock were busy gallivanting all over the universe, spreading goodwill while exploring new life and new civilizations.

At some point the kissing would begin. Iā€™m not talking about Kirk kissing on a green alien woman, I am talking about my sisters 13 and 11, who were kissing the TV screen.

They will remain nameless. They know who they are. I am pretty sure they would be mortified if they read this article.

It seemed aliens had sucked out their brains and made them mindless dimwits. I am not sure what was more interesting-the show on the TV or the show surrounding the TV as my sisters oohed and ahhhed over Captain Kirk. They justā€¦

--

--

Aslynn Roe šŸˆ
Flicks TV Hound

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!