Crazy Coworker Comedy

Monk-TV’s Best Psychological Comedy — Review

I could be wrong now but I don’t think so

Aslynn Roe 🐈
Flicks TV Hound
Published in
6 min readDec 14, 2023

--

A Crazy Coworker Comedy television frame is over the picture of Adrian Monk for the show Monk
Photo credit Peacock.com, image created by author.

How do you deal with a coworker who is meticulous, brilliant, and deeply loyal, but also afraid of germs, milk, driving, birds, needles, elevators, heights, tap water, handshakes, and ordinary life?

You’d find out on the 8-season Emmy-winning show Monk. Tony Shalhoub’s character of the “defective detective” Adrian Monk has become television’s iconic example of a person with phobias and obsessive-compulsive disorders.

I loved this show when it first came out in 2002. Later, it was one comedy my daughter and I loved to watch together. You could say we were obsessed with the obsessive-compulsive homicide detective. I think I’ve seen the series at least 8 or 9 times. We have DVDs of Monk traveling with us in the camper.

Experiencing Monk’s view of the world shows us compassion. Details matter. It also emphasizes we all have a little Monk inside. And that’s OK.

He has a gift, and a curse

Adrian Monk, a brilliant but obsessive homicide detective, lost his wife Trudy to a car bomb 4 years before the series…

--

--

Aslynn Roe 🐈
Flicks TV Hound

I am a listener of culture, history, media, and politics. Follow me, and we will go somewhere. Finding out where is half the fun!