The Doppelganger

Dream Prompt #3

Ava W. Burton
Flight of Fancy
4 min readMay 12, 2021

--

Photo by Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

She ran her fingers through her hair, which took less time than usual. Her usually (very) long, wavy hair was now a chin-length bob, which made her look years younger.

“Nadya, you’re a wizard!”, exclaimed Fiona, baffled at the transformation.

“I know, right?”, said Nadya, as she placed her head on her friend’s shoulder and smiled. “Please make sure you follow the hair routine I prescribed. You have such pretty hair, take good care of it!”

Fiona took another look in the mirror, turning her head left and right, admiring how her tick black hair looked luscious and shinny.

She left the salon feeling pounds lighter, her confidence renewed to an extent she had not imagined possible.

As she approached the car park, she took out her car keys and that’s when she first heard it: two female voices, one of which sounded very familiar, although she could not quite place it.

The closer she got to her car, the closer the voices. As she was about to open her car door, she spotted to women, two cars down. One was facing her: a redhead with long sleek hair, laughing at something her companion was saying. Her companion had her back turned to Fiona, all she could see was that she had short black hair and was wearing the same pattern blouse Fiona was wearing.

They must have felt Fiona’s gaze, as they both fixated their gaze on her. For a few moments, they all looked quite puzzled. The redhead and the black haired woman whispered amongst themselves and then they made their way to Fiona, slowly.

The redhead was shifting her gaze between Fiona and this woman in complete disbelief, as if she could not comprehend how this was possible.

Fiona and the black haired woman were now face to face, and other than the fact that Fiona was a bit taller, there was no other discernible difference. They looked the same, as if an image in a mirror. Same hair, same clothes, same facial expression.

The black haired woman was about to speak when Fiona dropped her keys. They both instinctively bent down to catch them and their faces were even closer, and there was no denying they looked like copies of each other. The black haired woman gave Fiona a sly smile and before she could react, the redhead struck Fiona in the head, knocking her out.

“Such a same”, said the black haired woman, pulling a piece of hair behind Fiona’s ear. “She was almost perfect. Almost. We are getting closer.” She said as she looked at the redhead, both smiling eerily.

If you are intrigued by what you just read, please make sure to read up on the why.

The actual dream

I finally cut my hair. Cut it short, chin-length, with tips pointing out. I think one of my friends was with me but not sure. I was not in my own body, I was looking at me at the end of what felt like a hallway, and there was somebody or something standing next to me that I could not quite make out. The me with the shorter hair was looking at the dreaming me.

What do I think it means?

I think it reflects my fear of change and also some self-esteem issues. I have had low self-esteem most of my life and for the past few years I was doing better, but a bout of depression followed by a year of pandemic living and the loss of a family member has caused me to gain weight, which I know for sure is going to stir some uncomfortable feelings and memories. I think this dream reflects me feeling good in my own skin at the moment.

What does the Internet think it means?

According to All Things Hair, “(…) any haircut dreams you have are to do with the fact you desire change in your life”.

Dream Dictionary seems to agree: “(…) willingly getting a haircut represents a fresh start or change in your thinking style”.

As for dreaming about me seeing myself as a character in a dream, or a copy of myself, Exemplore has some theories: “If you see yourself in a dream, it could mean you have concerns about how you’re behaving. (…) Seeing or meeting your doppelganger might mean that you should stop doing something and that there could be consequences if you don’t. It could also be a warning that there’s danger ahead or that some sort of misfortune is imminent. (…) The traditional explanation for seeing your reflection in a dream is that bad things are headed your way. (…) a dream of this nature could mean that you’re thinking about your identity, how you see yourself, and how others perceive you.”

Ah! Guess I was not too far off, then…

Well, that is all for this week’s dream journal prompt, see you on the next Weaving Wednesday!

--

--

Ava W. Burton
Flight of Fancy

Writer. (Amateur) Photographer. Mindful walking enthusiast.